Skip to content

Happy due date for me!

October 24, 2010

Well today was pretty much non-eventful. At least I knew that the stats were against me to actually give birth today so I’m not upset or anything.  However I’ve been flooded with phone calls, text messages and Facebook messages demanding to know if I’m in labour!! Which prompted me to change my Facebook status to a more polite version of “*Beep* *Beep* Enough already! I’m still pregnant okay?! Now let the poor girl relax and *Beep* stop *Beep* bothering me!”

I think I have a little bit of the ‘nesting instinct’ but since I’m not one of these people who are obsessed (and may I say ‘anal’?) about cleaning, I don’t think I’m acting over the top or anything. Last night however, I wouldn’t stop obsessing about the toilet brush holder (these things are seriously gross…any advice to how you guys clean it?) and sorting out the second draw in the kitchen. Like I said…nothing over the top really. LOL!

I was planning a quiet day today but thought I might as well celebrate since I’ve made it to 40 weeks without too much drama.

So what does a hormonal 40 week pregnant women do on her due date? She goes out and spends a whole load of money on…..

A food processor!!! LOL!

Behold the Magimix 4200!

 

Image courtesy of Magimix

Okay I’ve had my eye on this for a few months and managed to get this on sale with some free blades. Was weighing up getting the size above but thought it was best to not to give DH a heart attack and just get something that was sufficient.

I only had a small Breville food mixer but it couldn’t really do big quantities. I wanted something bigger and more efficient to make soups, milkshakes and mince my own meat. When the saleswomen said it could slice and grate your vegetables (Carrots are a b*tch!) – I was sold!

I found out later that it will have some practical use for baby as well…making baby food! And since Magimix is made in France their instruction booklet has some interesting baby recipes such as ‘Rabbit and green rice’ and ‘Duck and peach delight’.

Ooo La La!

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 3:04 pm

    Good luck!!!!!

    I didn’t nest with #1 but I did with #2. I just got this sudden burst of energy and desire to clean odd things that saw me sitting spread-legged on my kitchen floor cleaning every.single.crumb out of my toaster and scrubbing the hinges of my sandwich press. It lasted 4 days then it just stopped dead on the Thursday. It was odd but kind of fun since the cleaning wasn’t something i was forcing myself to do, it was just something keeping me busy. But I got into trouble for moving our fridge so I could clean under it.

    I don’t even know you but I’m so excited for you. Birth is one of the most bizarre, unique, amazing things. Even caesarian birth is magical. You kinda feel like poop at the time but when you look back, oh boy! so worth experiencing! Plus you get a squishy pink bundle too!

  2. October 26, 2010 7:06 pm

    Money well spent I think!
    Hope little one decides to come soon.
    Thinking of you and cant wait to hear the news!!!

  3. October 27, 2010 4:45 am

    Lori – Wow you really did have the nesting instinct for #2! I can’t believe you managed to move the fridge whilst being pregnant!!

    Thanks for the well wishes! I agree that a caesarean birth can be magical too, it’s all about managing expectations and choosing the right caregiver.. Happy 6 months for your little one too!

    shoesammie – Thanks for your well wishes too! I’m really excited now!

Leave a comment