Skip to content

Some facts about Due Dates

October 22, 2010

Today is my expected due date (EDD). However I extremely doubt my baby will be coming out today though since she is still kicking away like mad – and apparently they are supposed to decrease their movements. Plus I haven’t felt any other pre-labour symptoms…*sigh*

So yesterday I managed to fit in a hair appointment and get my nails done as I’m not sure how long it will take before I can get the time to afford such luxuries when the baby does finally arrive. Of course I got a whole bunch of text messages wishing me luck this week- don’t people realise that only 5% of births actually happen on the expected due date?

A German obstetrician called Naegele first developed the universal estimation of human gestation in the early 1800’s. He decided that a pregnancy should last 10 lunar months or 40 weeks. However, we now know that a lunar month is 29.53 solar days, meaning 295 days, which is closer to 42 weeks – so I could have 2 more weeks!

If women were left to go into labour without being induced:

  • About 50% would have their baby between 39 and 41 weeks and up to 88% between 38 and 42 weeks.
  • 5% of babies would be born on their actual due date.
  • 6 to 7% of babies would be born premature (before 37 weeks).
  • If not induced, a very small percentage of babies would be born after 42 weeks.

So I guess I’m still waiting….ever so patiently!

Image courtesy of blogcqcalfa via photobucket

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Desert Darling permalink
    October 23, 2010 4:49 pm

    Those are interesting facts to know- though Im sure at this stage the thought of a 42 week gestation seems like a loonnng time..
    I hope your little girl makers her grand entrance soon!

  2. October 23, 2010 6:09 pm

    The waiting game is made that much harder by people asking you every day if you’ve had the baby yet!
    Hope you are enjoying the last little bit of your pregnancy.

  3. October 24, 2010 12:45 am

    Desert Darling – It feels like a long pregnancy and in a lot of ways I just want it to happen so I can cuddle my little girl in my arms and feel a lot more comfortable walking around without this awkward and huge bump. However I don’t want to show that I’m too fed up in case they suggest induction – which I want to avoid for now!

    Lila – I know what you mean about people asking every day – it definitely gets annoying but I guess they are interested/concerned…nosey! I’m trying to enjoy the last days (uncomfortable as it is) just having a lot of ‘me’ time as I know the next few months will be so demanding!

  4. October 24, 2010 11:33 am

    Sass, you will probably be gratified to know that you made an excellent investment in a Magimix and you’ll probably be giving it to your bubba when she moves out of home – that’s how long they last! 🙂

  5. October 24, 2010 9:42 pm

    Thanks Kiki for reassuring me about my purchase :). I made shepherd’s pie tonight using the Magimix and it turned out great! 🙂

  6. November 1, 2010 3:38 pm

    Comment from Gill (http://ourparklife.blogspot.com/)

    I had my first labour come on naturally at 38 weeks and 1 day and my second baby by EC at 35 weeks so I have not had to play the waiting game…

    My friend had both her babes at 40 weeks and 5 days and she said the worst thing about waiting was all the texts and phone messages asking if she was in labour yet! Here’s hoping your friends will understand that no news probably means no labour!

    Good luck! So exciting!!

    Gill xo

    P.S I should stop writing posts on our blog about sleep deprivation – it probably only scares soon to be mothers like yourself. Don’t listen to me – we have GREAT hormones for helping us to deal with the whole lack of sleep thing. The men, on the other hand, are not lucky enough to get these! Poor guys!

Leave a Reply

