Skip to content

Westfield Fashion Festival (Part 2 – Mum’s workshop)

November 10, 2012

I was invited by the nice people of Westfield to attend both of their fashion festivals in Perth last month. The first festival was held at Whitfords (see post here) and the second fashion festival was held at Carousel (pictures above). I got to co-host the Mother’s fashion show again with Westfield stylist Mikey (yay!!) and on both occasions I got to wear fabulous dresses from Cue (including the Westfield Exclusive Kaleidoscope dress).

Thank you again to the wonderful people of Westfield and to Mikey for having me help out at both of the festivals – it was so much fun!

Here are some spring fashion tips we shared at the shows for mums:

  • Nothing says spring fashion more than a fabulous day dress. Dresses not only look ultra-feminine but saves a whole heck of time pulling only one thing out of the wardrobe without needing to coordinate it with other pieces. I used to think dresses were quite fussy but it’s such a time saver and I get more comments wearing dresses than I ever do when I wear my usual jeans and a t-shirt combo!
  • Big handbags can be a great alternative to those expensive (and daggy) nappy bags. There are a lot of on-trend colourful (and inexpensive) bags out there (e.g. Colette do some great ones) – perfect for spring!
  • Clothes that don’t require hand washing, or even better, clothes that don’t require ironing (e.g. clothes with wrinkle detailing) are worth buying as you will be depending on these pieces more when you are time poor.
  • If you feel like you are in fashion rut with wearing the same outfit to the playground or school drop off, try different accessories to spice it up. Statement necklaces can transform an outfit (whilst still looking casual) and babies love playing with it too.  Sportsgirl is my favourite place for trendy and affordable accessories.
  • This season there are some exciting looking flats which are worth trying if you are tend to wear your Havaianas or ballet flats too often! I love all the gold sandals popping up this season; gold cuffs or gold glitter (like these ones from Rubi).

When it comes to popping into the supermarket or hanging out in the playground, my clothes tend to be mainly a mixture of high street and vintage.  I still love my designer stuff, so save that for my accessories which I can wear again and again.  I look out more for practical and casual clothes that are affordable and comfortable now that I’m a mum.

What other tips do you have as mother? And has your style changed since becoming a mother? 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

