Skip to content

Travel Beauty items

October 23, 2012

What beauty/hair products do you take when you are travelling? My backpacking days are well and truly over as comfort is now key to me. There is so much additional stuff to pack when you have kids, so I try to keep my stuff to a minimum. Having said that, I still take the following products/items as feeling good and looking semi-decent whilst on holiday is still important to me.

One eyeshadow/blush palette – I used to be a makeup junkie and pack every eyeshadow colour imaginable – ‘Just in case’ I would tell myself. But now being a mother I just don’t have time to be experimenting with different colours. Especially whilst travelling. I just pack one basic nude/brown eyeshadow/blush palette with my other makeup tools ( a few brushes, eyeliner, lipgloss etc).

Mineral makeup foundation – In humid climates, I only pack a mineral makeup powder as I find the liquid formulas too uncomfortable when it’s sticky outside. It’s also a lot easier and quicker to apply.

Dry shampoo – This stuff is legendary. I know some people use baby powder but I’d rather stick to something I know won’t leave white marks in my hair.

Travel sized hair dryer – Not all hotels have hair dryers, so it’s good to pack one just in case.

Hair straightener – I only pack this if I’m going to a humid location since my hair becomes a fuzzball without it.

Wax strips – I’d rather pack these a couple of paper thin wax strips in case I really need it. It’s better to have something you know that works.

Facial cleanser – I used an affordable gentle facial cleanser (Sukin) which I also bought to double up as a body wash for the whole family. I can’t bring myself to use drying soaps or sulfates with Lily. I also used the cleanser in conjunction with my Clarisonic (picture above) which is travel sized and can be used in the shower. I get lazy with beauty whilst travelling and it feels good when I have a little tool that ensures my face is properly cleaned. Well, that is what I tell myself anyway!

Neck pillows – This isn’t really a beauty item, but something I think is so essential in getting quality sleep on an airline. I’d also add to get an extra pillow for your little ones especially on a budget airline which don’t provide bassinets or pillows. I didn’t pack one for Malaysia and boy did I pay the price. My arm was dead sore after supporting Lily’s heavy sleeping head during the flight!

In preparation for a long trip, I also like to get my nails shellaced (probably the only time I do this now), eyebrows threaded, legs waxed and if I’m really lazy I get eyelash extensions so I don’t have to deal with applying mascara on the trip.

What beauty items/products do you pack when travelling?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 8:34 am

    Funny but I would have commented on this post differently when I was ‘backpacking’ through Europe. My essentials back then were a hairdryer (compact one), a Sheridan facecloth and travel pillow… These days it’s LOTS of moisturiser, eye drops, multi-vitamin and dry-shampoo (just in case as I’ve never actually used this stuff). The travel pillow is a must for all seasons!
    Sal x

    • October 23, 2012 1:19 pm

      Oh the multi-vitamin is a good idea! A moisturiser is an essential in dry and cold places. I only had to use a tiny amount in Malaysia because of the humidity.

  2. October 23, 2012 7:54 pm

    Loving muslin cloth for face wash. Got one from Liz Earle whilst in the UK and it is awesome but also love my Clarisonic. Also love peppermint and lavender essential oils. Great for so many uses!

  3. Tara permalink
    October 25, 2012 6:04 pm

    What mineral make-up do you use? I’m still trying to find one that works well with my oily skin – would love to find something suitable for the tropics for our holiday next year!

    My travel essentials are paw-paw ointment (so versatile!) band-aids, sleep-mask, unscented baby wipes (can be used to remove make-up as well as freshen up on the plane) mints and as much water as I can get my hands on. Planes are so dehydrating!

    • October 25, 2012 11:34 pm

      Tara – I’m just using the Nude by Nature powder, which seems to work for me but I know there are other products such as bare essentials. Oh yes, I forgot to mention paw paw ointment! My fave chemist product! Oh and the sleep mask is a good idea for the budget airlines!

Leave a Reply

