Skip to content

Some snaps from Malaysia

October 14, 2012


Genting Highlands


Grumpy Lily


Chinatown


Can someone please explain the matching outfits? I see this a lot with Asian couples travelling…


So do I!


H&M Staff member carefully applies Lana Del Ray mannequin’s eyelashes


Anna Dello Russo collection and Lana Del Ray mannequins at H&M


Chinese Temple in Perak


Chinese Temple in the caves of Perak


Monkeys in Perak


Lily in Kellie’s Castle


Ham anyone?


Pavillion shopping centre


Lily in Perak temple

Here are a few pictures from our trip to Malaysia. We stayed in Kuala Lumpur (KL) for the majority of the trip and then hired a van to meet up with relatives living near Ipoh. We also did a day trip to the Genting Highlands and Lily even had her first cable car ride.

H&M only opened recently in KL, and it just so happened that there was a special Anna Dello Russo collection opening so I waited in line (a massive half hour wait…no biggie right?) to be part of the 15 minute frenzy! Don’t worry I have something special for one of you…(stay tuned for the next competition!).

Lily was good on the whole but she did throw at least one massive tantrum everyday. At home, she doesn’t do this because it’s very easy to calm her down with all the comforts of home (i.e. toys) or if we are out, I drop everything I’m doing and carry her back in the car. We couldn’t exactly do this in the busy streets of KL!

My major piece of advice is to make sure you pay your toddler lots of attention as they are likely to get very frustrated being out of their normal routine. Pack snacks, plenty of water, their favourite soft toy and books and go with the flow (no strict routines). Make sure the day has some time planned exclusively for them (i.e. swimming pool or park). Expect that plans may be cancelled or stopped short and even so you can still have a good time.

Oh and expect you might have to sing nursery rhymes out loud and dance to the Wiggles in public. And be a master at distraction. Believe me this is less embarrassing than a toddler throwing a tantrum in the middle of a busy intersection. So start memorising those Wiggle moves!

See my other tips for travelling with toddlers/babies here.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2012 10:30 am

    Sounds like you had a great time Sass. I’ve never been to KL but tempted to go sometime.

    I am still amazed at the power of The Wiggles to transform the moods of toddlers! We had to endure many years of their videos and DVDs in our household growing up with my much younger siblings… Maybe there will be something new before we have a toddler on our hands?!

    I will reply to your comment on my blog xx

  2. October 14, 2012 12:08 pm

    I love the dress Lily is wearing, she’s just adorable! Thankfully Eve hasn’t caught on to the wiggles yet so I just get to self consciously sing her Bowie songs instead.

  3. October 15, 2012 7:22 pm

    Such gorgeous shots! I love the dress Lily is wearing too! And her little red shoes are to die for. Where did you get them from?

    • October 15, 2012 9:35 pm

      mrsslj – The dress is from John Lewis (UK, gift from her grandparents) and her shoes are Country Road. I love the shoes and I’m thinking of getting another pair in a different colour!

  4. October 16, 2012 12:24 pm

    Gorgeous photos! KL sounds the the new hot spot must add it to be go to list 🙂 you are one awesome mama xoxo

  5. October 17, 2012 9:04 am

    LOL, all I know is “Monday is number one day…” so I guess I would be in big trouble. Beautiful photos, those first two are just amazing. Well done doing the trip with Lily. Agree with Jess – you are an awesome mama!
    Ronnie xo

  6. Popsi permalink
    November 2, 2012 10:22 pm

    Ooooh you were in my city. The pics are great. The shopping gets better in KL every year!!!

    • November 5, 2012 9:46 pm

      Oh I didn’t know you were from KL! You are so lucky to be spoilt by all the good food and shops!

Leave a Reply

