Skip to content

LOTD – Floral + Mint + Westfield $100 giveaway

October 8, 2012

{Outfit}

Top: Dotti– $15
Trousers: Dotti – $15
Blazer: Valleygirl – $34.95
Rings: Valleygirl – $2.95
Pink Bracelet: Sportsgirl – $5
From my wardrobe: Necklace (Sportsgirl – Old), Shoes (Alexander Wang), Bracelet (Louis Vuitton), Sunglasses (No brand from  Central Market in Kuala Lumpur), Bag (…Find out tomorrow!)

It seems like a long time since I last did my last Look of the Day post, and I apologise for taking this photo in my usual front yard, but I don’t think I look too bad given that this picture was taken less than 24 hours after arriving back in Perth and surviving on only 3 hours sleep. But I’ll write more about that and my dead arm in another post….

Anyway as mentioned yesterday, one lucky reader will win an $100 Westfield gift card! I was asked to participate in the Westfield Fashion festival and really wanted my readers to benefit too!

Seeing that Malaysian stores had all it’s winter gear out (Silly right? As there is no winter in Malaysia!!), I didn’t end up getting very many clothes on my trip. So upon arriving back to Perth on Sunday (hurray for Sunday trading…finally!) I was happy to oblige in a challenge to do an outfit post to inspire what you could buy for $100 at Westfield and get some new Spring weather gear.

I actually bought enough clothes for two outfits, and here is my first look – Floral pants with a Mint green blazer. Two key trends for Spring. I tend to save and spend on investment pieces but for trendy items I like hitting the high street. The lower price point also allows me to experiment with looks. For example I’d NEVER thought I’ll wear floral pants but the $15 made me think ‘what the heck’ and when I tried them on it was instant love! Most of the time I mix these new trendy pieces with items from my existing wardrobe (older high street or vintage/opshopped or designer so I don’t look like everyone else. Plus, I don’t like forgetting what’s in my wardrobe just because I have some new clothes…

Basically to enter this competition, you will need to answer this question: “What’s the best piece of style advice you have ever received and why?”

If you are not a regular commenter on my blog you will also need to also follow me on WordPress or Twitter (@SassandSpice) or Instagram (@SassandSpice) – and that’s it! Easy right?

Sorry but this competition is only for Australian residents (don’t worry, there will be another competition which will be open to my international readers soon….stay tuned!) and I will decide the winner on Wednesday the 17th of October 2012.

Good luck and I hope to see you at the Westfield Fashion Festival if you are in Perth! Stay tuned for my second Westfield outfit post next week.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 1:45 am

    I love your outfit! So reminiscent of Spring and so fun. Too bad I don’t live in Australia (although I have been there a few times and fall in love with it every time). Great blog!

    xo Sophie Louise
    http://www.trendsandtribulations.com

    • October 10, 2012 12:40 am

      Ooo I really like your blog too! Now you can see how we feel when it was our Autumn and seeing all your lovely Spring frocks. Hopefully you’ll come visit Australia again!

  2. October 9, 2012 10:49 am

    I like it! And the necklace is gorgeous.

    • October 10, 2012 12:34 am

      Thank you so much! The necklace proves that high street doesn’t necessarily mean ‘throw away fashion’.

  3. Tara permalink
    October 9, 2012 12:32 pm

    I wasn’t sure about the floral pants trend either, but you’ve proved it’s actually possible – thank you.

    I’d love to throw my hat in the ring for the $100 Westfield voucher, what a fabulous giveaway! My grandmother gave me so much fantastic style advice before she passed away, it’s hard to choose just one. I think the one that has stuck with me (especially now I’m living in Melbourne – lol!!!) is that you should only wear all black as a blank canvas for an amazing piece of jewellry. This means I think of her and honour her memory every time I wear one of her stunning pieces of costume jewellry she left me AND fit right in to my new home town 🙂

    • October 10, 2012 12:36 am

      What great advice! I need to try that sometime! We Perth people tend to wear a lot of colour though but I did notice Melbourne girls love their black! It’s such an elegant colour.

  4. October 9, 2012 8:38 pm

    Love your outfit! I didn’t notice your balayage in other photos but it stands out in this post, looks really nice and suits you!

    I really like your necklace too!

    • October 10, 2012 12:37 am

      Thanks Cynthia. This is the 4th colour now so 2 more to go (apparently) to get it the colour I want. I’m staging it as it’s very $$$ and I don’t want to ruin my hair doing it all in one lot!

  5. October 10, 2012 4:11 am

    For me it was ” don’t wear 3/4 pants. They make you look shorter and fat.” I’ve never worn them since! And really what was I thinking??? It was true!

  6. October 10, 2012 11:40 am

    Loving the rings!!! I’m going to go and hunt them down. Best advice that I ever got was “Don’t wear trends or follow anyone else, only wear what makes you FEEL good otherwise you will never LOOK good”. Got this advice as a 15 year old model from a very nice dresser at a fashion show. I didn’t understand it at the time but never forgot it. Finally in my 30s, I get it and am realising the importance of posture, confidence and style from within. Being comfortable, loving the style that you create for yourself and being happy creates a beautiful happy glow that others are drawn to and enjoy too. As a 15 year old, I thought it was all about legs, skin, lots of hair and eyeliner. Now I know it is about smiles, hair that will stay in style without needing a brush every 30 mins, and glad rags that show off my best bits like the colour of my eyes!

  7. October 10, 2012 1:36 pm

    How awesome are all your accessories!

    Best advice I was ever given “Whatever you wear, make sure it fits well, never buy clothes a size bigger or smaller with the hope it will fit perfectly one day” How true those words have been for me. Now I only wear clothes which are a perfect fit. I feel so much more comfortable and confident this way. And really how it flatters my figure so much better this way.

  8. Kelly Arndt permalink
    October 12, 2012 10:41 am

    The best advice I was ever given was to never to tuck my shirt into my pants when sporting that extra few kilos in winter- or before getting rid of that post baby belly! With my ample chest(even more ample when breast feeding)and short, it’s never a good look! Pity some guys out there with beer bellies obviously haven’t been given that same advice…!

  9. Tanene permalink
    October 12, 2012 11:08 am

    The best advice I was ever given was from my late Mum. She always said remember to wear a smile. It’s no good wearing something beautiful and having a terrible frown on your face. It ruins the whole package. I follow on instagram as tanened 🙂

  10. October 12, 2012 1:03 pm

    Gorgeous rings!

    Best advice I got…
    Always wear a smile, its the best accessory one can wear.

  11. Alison permalink
    October 12, 2012 2:20 pm

    The best advise i have ever been given is feel comfortable in your own skin, be confident in your own style choice and own it, girl.

  12. laura permalink
    October 12, 2012 3:18 pm

    Best advice I received is less is more….(makeup not clothes) You can have a stand out lippy or eyeliner/eye shadow but tone down the rest.

  13. Dannielle permalink
    October 12, 2012 6:21 pm

    Best advice I ever receved was to always have a bold piece, whether it be that gorgeous big necklace or that bright jacket… :o) I follow on twitter @danni182

  14. October 13, 2012 6:55 pm

    Best fashion advice I ever got was to do your lips first – they set the tone for the whole rest of your face! Thanks Grandma 🙂

  15. October 14, 2012 12:08 am

    Loving all the style advice so far! x

  16. October 14, 2012 12:46 am

    the best style advice I was ever given was to dress for your body shape – I learnt to dress for and embrace my body / it’s what we we were given so we gotta work it!

    (emilov – Instagram)

  17. October 14, 2012 8:24 am

    A smile is the best accessory any woman could wear 🙂

  18. Renee Ballantyne permalink
    October 15, 2012 10:21 am

    Keep it simple and jazz things up with classic pieces you can mix and match

  19. October 15, 2012 8:41 pm

    Invest in quality staple fashion pieces, then you can get away with cheap, seasonal accessories.

  20. October 15, 2012 10:16 pm

    Best advice – “You’re not seriously going to wear that, are you?” – lol

  21. Michelle Gray permalink
    October 16, 2012 12:59 pm

    Always check yourself in the mirror before you walk out the door, there are so many people out there who I’m sure have never heard this advise!!!!

  22. October 16, 2012 6:41 pm

    Leggings are not pants. LOL

    No Mum always said do not buy pants that are too tight. Camel toe anyone?

  23. October 17, 2012 9:11 am

    What a fantastic giveaway!!! I’d love to enter it.
    The best fashion related advice I have been given, came from my Mum. She loves her pearls and told me a pearl necklace can take an outfit from casual to chic. I agree with her… Most of the time anyway 🙂

    By the way, you wear your floral pants so well!

Leave a Reply

