Skip to content

Flying to Malaysia

September 30, 2012


Image courtesy of I Am Packed

It’s been a looong and tiring day but we are finally in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Getting to the airport bright and early at 4.30 am and then being told our flight was delayed by 5 hours meant we returned home after checking in. Lily refused to go back to sleep however so we had to totally change our strategy for ‘Flying with the Toddler.’

This is our 4th trip flying with Lily (Read about our 1st trip here) and it does become easier in the sense that we were less anxious and weren’t so worked up about it. As in previous trips, the iPad was our blessing and since I don’t let her use it too much at home she enjoyed having it all to herself.

She really does loves books so I brought her favourites and even got her a new one from the airport. So she actually spent most of the time being read to or flicking through the books herself. And I even got some time to nap and even read my own magazine!!

There were a few outbursts but I have to say that travelling with Lily as a toddler is a lot easier than when she was a baby. There is no need to transport an entire bag worth of noisy toys/bottles/formula/baby food, fewer nap times as a toddler means less time needing to soothe her to sleep, and there are more ways to entertain and distract Lily now – i.e. singing, drawing etc.

So even though we had to change our strategy with the 5 hour delay (i.e. more awake time and more food required), it wasn’t too difficult.

We still have the journey back however, so I guess it’s still possible she could be an absolute nightmare and I’ll have to take back what I just wrote!

Are you curious to what other people pack? Check out I Am Packed where people have posted pictures of what they have packed on their trips. I was meant to take a picture of mine but ran out of time but I’ll be posting my picture on my instagram (@sassandspice).

I packed very lightly for this trip as now that Lily is older, I don’t have the luxury of having a suitcase all to myself anymore. I also figured that I’ll be most likely to be picking some new clothes anyway so best to make room for them!

What essentials do you usually pack?

I have Wifi connection in my hotel so hopefully I’ll be posting more about the trip and getting my last Perth Fashion Festival post done too. Hope you all are having a good weekend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2012 7:22 am

    5 hours delayed? Awful!

    Enjoy your time away!

    Sal x

  2. September 30, 2012 7:56 am

    How disappointing to go home from the airport AFTER checking in:( Glad that Lily was a champ flyer! Have fun. We want to see a post on your shopping purchases!

  3. September 30, 2012 6:14 pm

    Ooohhh have fun!!

  4. October 1, 2012 7:32 am

    Hats off to you for dealing so well with a 5 hour delay! We are on holidays in KL too! Happy Holiday!

  5. October 1, 2012 8:50 am

    Wow that is so brave of you guys! I can’t imagine taking a trip back to Hong Kong until our youngest is at least three! That’s really cool that you’ve already done a few trips with Lily. What a little champion she is!
    Ronnie xo

  6. PICK ME AN OUTFIT permalink
    October 2, 2012 10:21 pm

    Hay!

    I wanted to let you know that I’ve changed my domain. So if you want to stay tuned for new posts, just follow me on Bloglovin , Facebook or Google+ 😉

Leave a Reply

