Skip to content

Kangaroos at Caversham

September 16, 2012

You must be thinking since this is another series of wildlife pictures that they must have been inspired by my last post. Or that I’m really getting one on one with nature. Not exactly… My husband (DH) has been invited to a friend’s bucks party in Germany and since he can’t make it he will be required to send a message to the groom via a short film to be shown at the party. He wanted it to set in a stereotypical Australian location so I suggested the beach. But he had kangaroos in mind. So off we went to Caversham wildlife park instead. We arrived to see a huge group of kangaroos bathing in the warmth of the sun.

While DH was fiddling with the camera, I noticed Lily staring at them blankly and then I realised that she had no idea what they were. In the heat of the sun I tried to think back at what book I could have read or nursery rhyme that we could have sang that featured kangaroos. And that is when I realised there hasn’t been any book or song, which is extremely embarrassing since the almighty kangaroo is probably the most important animal to Australians being on our national Coat of Arms and all…

How do you parents know when you are teaching your toddlers enough?

Lily is now at an age where she is absorbing so much and I feel like I’m running out of resources. There are categories and sub-categories of topics. Animals. Zoo animals. Farm animals. Chickens. Horses. Shire Horses. Welsh Ponies. You get my drift. And the last photo of Lily sums it up really well. It’s terribly overwhelming for a first time parent like me. I didn’t think it would be before she turns 2 that I’ll be considering getting one of these children’s encyclopaedias (Did anyone else grow up with Childcraft?) or increasing our visits to the library.

Anyway, Lily had a lot of fun at the park and she now knows what a kangaroo is. Along with the emu (the other half of our Coat of Arms), wombat and koala, although she can’t still refers to a koala as a bear.

We also finished the short film for DH. The first part features him patting a kangaroo and  saying how gutted he is about not being able to make Germany and wishes his friend all the best for the wedding. And then he is introduces his mate ‘Skippy’ and says will see him later. The next scene (taken at home) is him drinking Heineken and on the BBQ cooking…yeap you guessed it…kangaroo meat. Typical male humour! Hope you had a good weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 1:52 pm

    Don’t tell me you were there on Saturday!? I took Logan up there on a family date with Hubby and made him pat his first kangaroo before he fell asleep.

  2. September 17, 2012 10:11 pm

    Oh I was there the Saturday before! How did you find it? Did Logan fall asleep in the pram or was he bored?

    • September 20, 2012 6:00 pm

      He fell asleep in the pram but he loved it he was looking at everything which was awesome 🙂
      Sorry I missed your catwalk I’m sure you were amazing!

  3. October 6, 2012 12:16 pm

    For us, it’s been books that have given our kiddo a point of reference. We go to places, but not enough to cover everything there is, so we rely on books for stuff like that, like animals he hasn’t seen or even seasons, countries, etc.

Leave a Reply

