Skip to content

Lately I’ve been I’m waking up to…

September 11, 2012

Black red-tailed cockatoos! They hang out in my backyard in the morning and fly back and forth to the local park. I’ve never seen so many before, not even in the forest.

It makes me smile when I’m driving home and I see them flying in the distance. And as I arrive in my driveway I can see them fly to over me to the tree across the road.

What local birds come visit your house?

We’ve also started the process of designing a house to build soon. This is a rough draft of the first floor (bedrooms on the top) and it’s pretty exciting thinking we will be moving into a proper family home some day. I hope all the noise from the building won’t scare the cockatoos away though!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2012 2:26 pm

    How lovely! We have a couple of magpie and a lot of pigeons but nothing as special as you. I hope the building goes smoothly, very exciting.

    • September 11, 2012 2:48 pm

      We used to have magpies and pigeons too, but since these guys moved in last week they have gone…*yay* It’s still strange seeing these guys fly around as I don’t live too far from the city.

  2. September 11, 2012 2:36 pm

    How beautiful is that sky?! Kellie
    PS Came over here to say that yes – face paint is really hard to get off! We scrubbed but Olive still sported some black remnants the next day.

    • September 11, 2012 2:50 pm

      I know. We are blessed with beautiful skies in Australia don’t you think? Hmm I think I’m going to resist the face painting for now as Lily hates getting her face wiped. I’m sure another year she will appreciate it though!

  3. September 11, 2012 4:47 pm

    Those pesky birds will take a lot of moving on! Wow a new home, I wish you so much fun.

  4. September 11, 2012 8:22 pm

    That first photo is stunning…
    Ronnie xo

  5. September 15, 2012 8:48 am

    Awesome photo! We have hummingbirds near us, because they like to eat from the flowers hanging from our patio.

Leave a Reply

