Skip to content

Why so glum Perth?

June 21, 2012

I saw this video on Facebook a few months ago and had to laugh. It’s so true.

We Perth people are always putting down our own city. We regurgitate the same negative comments in regards to any change. Whether it’s the bell tower or daylight savings, extended trading hours on a Sunday or what to name the new riverfront development – it’s always a battle for consensus.

We complain about how expensive it has gotten over the past few years, constantly compare ourselves to Melbourne and whinge about all the bad drivers in Perth (but never admitting we are one of them!).

Nothing seems good enough.

But within the last year I’ve gotten to like Perth a bit more. Maybe because I’ve gotten the opportunity to spend time (during my maternity leave) to enjoy it without the stress and constraints of school or work. To just enjoy the laziness of it all with my daughter.

I personally love the sunshine which makes all the gumtrees glow amber and gives out that nice relaxing summer vibe even when it’s winter. And how the sky is such a brilliant blue it’s hard to not smile when you see it. And then there is the bright turquoise sea which glistens against the white sand – and the fact that this is only a stone throw’s away for most of us. And having access to really good food, coffee and fantastic wine (yes, it does exist…you just have to know where to go!).

It’s true that a lot of these things are common for most of Australia. But the combination of the super relaxed vibe, comfortable climate and endless beautiful coastline does stand out in Perth.

What do you think of the place you are live in? Do you feel that most people (locals and visitors) feel the same?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2012 6:25 am

    I give Perth air punches. Love it! For us over on the east side it’s so expensive to fly over so we go overseas instead.

    • June 22, 2012 10:01 am

      Understandable…That is what all my East sider friends say and it makes sense to go overseas instead! Perth needs to do more to attract domestic visitors.

  2. June 22, 2012 7:57 am

    I love Perth. I do grumble every now again but it’s my home, where I plan on raising our family and where I want to grow old. Sure I’ll be out traveling every chance I get but Perth is just too awesome to not call home 🙂

    • June 22, 2012 10:03 am

      I have to admit I’m only here for my family and who knows where we’ll end up. But for the time being it’s not a bad place to be…Perth will always hold a special place in my heart.

  3. June 22, 2012 9:17 am

    Haven’t been to Perth yet, but would love to visit 🙂 As a born and bred Melbournian, I love my city and there are so many good things to do here but the way people go on about the weather drives me crazy! Melbourne has 4 distinct seasons people so of course it gets cold in winter and hot in summer (and in between the rest of the year)! I

    • June 22, 2012 10:12 am

      Omg I’m going to sound like a typical Perth person but I loovveeee Melbourne!! The city has a lovely soul and a distinct and strong identity that evokes charm and style. Who cares about the weather when you are having fun???

  4. Melissa permalink
    June 24, 2012 1:12 pm

    I love Sydney or maybe it is the part of Sydney where I come from that I love. I love that I can catch a train to work- takes the stress out of driving. I love that Sydney has a lot of rivers. People always think of the beaches but a lot of Sydney is on a river. Did you know there are three main rivers that Sydney has the pleasure of? I love the cultural diversity of Sydney….this could be more of an Australian or food thing though. Sure there are parts of Sydney that are really expensive and crowded but hey every city has that. The joy is finding the magic in the suburbs I say.

    • June 24, 2012 8:30 pm

      There are definitely some really nice areas in Sydney. I really like the architecture in the Eastern suburbs and the food on offer is up there with the best in the world.

  5. July 19, 2012 11:34 am

    Oh my gosh that video! So funny. The funny thing is, I moved to Perth and hated it. Like I actually HATED living there for the first year and a half. After three years I loved it, and when I moved away, it has been in my mind as a wonderful place since. I have been back to visit, and am now thinking of moving back for at least 6 months. I love the place! No matter where you go, you have to really make the effort to get outside of your home and explore, and find the things and people that you love. I love the food in Perth, but had to find the decent places. Yes it is more expensive, but the lifestyle is great. It is so much warmer than Melbourne and trust me the transport is better than Adelaide!

    • July 19, 2012 10:01 pm

      I totally agree. I used to really hate Perth, and even though there are lots of things I still get annoyed about, there are still a lot of perks and its home. Thanks for your comment!

    • July 19, 2012 10:01 pm

      I totally agree. I used to really hate Perth, and even though there are lots of things I still get annoyed about, there are still a lot of perks and its home. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

