Skip to content

Boots made for walking

June 13, 2012

As it pours down in Perth, I’m thinking of getting some new boots for the winter. I have something to confess though…

The boots I’m seeing on most people don’t excite me….

I’m just not totally convinced that they are all meant to be worn as fashionable items…


Image courtesy of Ugg Australia

For example the Ugg boot. In Australia we wear Ugg boots indoors as they keep our ‘lil toes warm and cozy as most of our homes lack central heating.

I was shocked when I first saw girls walking around in London in their Ugg boots! And even more shocked that they were considered a highly prized fashionable item!

I know they are comfy and even a bit cute but hey so are my dorky pyjamas (and I love them too) – but you won’t ever catch me wearing either of these things outside!


Image courtesy of Hunter Boot

If I’m ever lucky to get a ticket to Glastonbury or if I ever take up living in the wet countryside, I would definitely purchase a pair of Wellington boots. Named after the 1st Duke of Wellington who made them popular, the Hunter boot is probably the most popular brand of Wellies at the moment.

I personally don’t think these boots are meant to be worn out in town – unless you are gardening. They are better suited in conditions where you can do them justice and get them all muddy and wet! The Hunter Regent Savoy Wellies (picture above) look more refined and chic and better suited for being out in the town in my opinion.


Image courtesy of The Frye Company

And jumping from Australia and Britain, I now present you with a very American boot. The Frye boot was created in the 1860’s and has built a reputation for being durable and long-lasting. The boot pictured is called the ‘Veronica Slouch’ which I’m currently in love with because of it’s equestian vibe combined with a bit of motorcycle rebellion.

The difference with this boot (compared to the first two) is that won’t look out of context if you are at the shops or out in a bar. I’ve seen these boots look really good with skinny jeans or rolled down to wear with dresses and even shorts. These boots will probably be in danger of looking too much like a cowgirl though if you combine it with the wrong pieces (e.g. plaid).

What winter boots are you wearing at the moment? Will you ever wear Uggs or Wellies out into town?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 1:39 am

    I used to hate uggs but now I love them. when it’s cold out here in the USA they keep mine (and my mini’s) feet warm. They are cute but again they are made for really cold weather but not rain. Hunters are super cute I have been wanting a pair for a while. Rain boots have become really fashionable during the rainy/winter months in the us. I guess it’s because most people said, hey why can’t we be fashionable and logical at the same time.

    As for out on the town boots, I love frye’s and my steve madden’s. I am interested to see whateverone else likes, it would awesome to find more brands to try especially as we will be heading into fall in just two short months!
    .

    • June 13, 2012 6:46 pm

      I think in the right context these boots look great. They certainly have very loyal followers and I think Hunters are perfect for when I’m visiting all those animal farms that my daughter is now obsessed with….we both get very muddy!

      I’m so jealous you have Fryes ! I really want a pair! I’ve also heard Steve Madden does a similar looking boot too for much less too. Is that what you have?

  2. June 13, 2012 6:26 am

    I want to want to wear Uggs out but it still seems feral rather than fashion to me. The Wellies I’m more likely to try because I have a pair of patent boots that almost look like Wellies anyway, it rarely gets wet enough here to justify them though.
    My wardrobe needs a huge update so more boots would be lovely, and more cute skirts and rights to wear with them…

    • June 13, 2012 6:47 pm

      It’s a big trend to wear boots with cute skirts/dresses atm so you will get a lot of wear out of them so worth the investment imho…

  3. June 13, 2012 7:04 am

    Wearing uggs outside of the house is a crime!
    I have a pair of shiny grey Hunters and I do wear them out and about, but the weather has to warrant it and the location too!
    I wanted new boots last winter and loved so many that we’re around but due to pregnant swelling I couldn’t do any of them up 😦
    And now I can’t seem to find any that I like

    • June 13, 2012 6:50 pm

      I agree. It’s just been drilled in to me since my childhood that these boots were only meant for the indoors. But hey maybe I’ll change my mind one day? I would say Melbourne is definitely a place to warrant gumboots!

  4. June 13, 2012 5:20 pm

    I wear uggs out occasionally, like when picking up takeaway! but there are no boots out at the moment that I like 😦

    • June 13, 2012 6:55 pm

      Good boots are definitely harder to find compared to finding a wicked pair of pumps/stilettos! Shopping for the latter is more fun too!

  5. June 14, 2012 10:51 am

    I probably wouldn’t wear Ugs out but might do so with gumboots if I had a pair of green Hunter ones! (But only on rainy days.) I tend to wear the same boots all winter – they’re ankle height with flat soles and they’re comfy as and go with everything (at least I’m convinced that they do…).
    Ronnie xo

  6. June 15, 2012 3:37 am

    I have a pair of Frye boots that I wear any season, anywhere. Great boot to buy even though they are so friggin’ expensive! I have yet to buy Wellingtons for the reason you said—I’m not sure I could pull them off if it’s not raining, and it doesn’t rain here often. So we’ll see, maybe next rainy season. I kind of want to get another flat boot that’s not too cowboy-y that I can still wear comfortably. I still have yet to find one!

    • June 15, 2012 7:06 pm

      Lucky you to have a pair of Frye boots! Which pair do you have? I only hear good things about these boots so am convinced that I ‘need’ to get a pair!

  7. June 16, 2012 5:19 pm

    I was thinking of getting a pair of hunters but I’m not sure anymore! I don’t know if I would wear them enough. They are on outnet though.
    Btw Dino hoodie is from next direct.

Leave a Reply

