Skip to content

Potty training

May 29, 2012


Images above courtesy of Bambini Pronto

My mum has been putting Lily on a potty at her place for a couple of weeks now and after reporting a couple of successes, I decided to get one for home too.

I wasn’t going to start potty training for another year, but my mum was adamant that I was toilet trained before turning 2 so wanted to train Lily now. But since she only has her once a week, her efforts would probably go to waste if I wasn’t training her as well.

I guess it won’t do her much harm to get her practising and she seems to think it’s fun anyway. I’m just not expecting her to be toilet trained in a week!

I also bought a book to describe the ‘concept’ to Lily. She seems to love and learn from books and I’m pretty sure it plays a major role with her understanding the world around her.

When I hear her say “poo”, I take her to the potty. It is more of case of nothing happening, but when there is success she gets lots of clapping from me and gets the idea that she did something that warranted it.

What are your tips for toilet training?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 5:36 am

    I think you’re doing it right, just keep following her cues and not applying pressure, she’ll catch on when she’s ready.

  2. May 30, 2012 5:48 am

    Oh the thought… Something I’m not at all looking forward to.
    Be great to hear of your successes and what works along the way (and what doesn’t!)

  3. DesertDarling permalink
    June 4, 2012 9:18 pm

    Yes! We’ve started potty training, following similar approach to you.. Have bought 2 potties one for inside and the other for outside during nudey time (which is when we’re having most success) We give lots of claps when she sits on it, and every time I go to toilet I bring her in to sit on potty and talk about poos and wees!! Haha the things we do!

    Hadn’t thought of a book, great idea! might get a copy!

Leave a Reply

