Skip to content

LOTD – Stripes on Stripes

March 13, 2012

{Outfit}

Top: Portmans (old)
Skirt: Vintage
Necklace:  (Forgotten the brand but got it from ‘This Fine Day‘)
Bracelets: Pigeonhole
Shoes: Witchery
Belt: Topshop
Sunglasses: Dior
Nails: China Glaze – For Audrey

I’ve always thought that wearing different patterns/stripes together would clash. But I’ve read recently that as long as the patterns share a few colours in common, than the look should work. So here is my first attempt at mixing it up a bit with some different sized stripes.

This is my first week working 4 days a week. I was really happy working 3 days a week because I knew I was spending most of the week with Lily. But now I really need to add the extra day as I’m spending my nights working (and not getting paid) so I’m going to see how this arrangement goes…

How is everyone else managing the work/motherhood balance?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 3:48 pm

    Great look, I love nautical at the best of times, the nail colour is a hit!

  2. March 13, 2012 4:43 pm

    Loving that skirt! Damn that it’s vintage…

  3. March 13, 2012 8:56 pm

    I love your outfit very much sass and the skirt is really nice.
    You seem to be able to pull off a mixture of prints and colours really well, jealous!
    i feel like having blue nail polish too now hehe

  4. DesertDarling permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:10 pm

    Love your stack of bracelets and the nail polish!
    Think the subtle stripe of the skirt works really well with the bold stripe of the top!

    Ah good luck with the 4 days per week.. hope it helps make your workload more managable- and that they don’t just lump you with more projects!
    I’ve been having the exact same dilema at work and have been toying with going full time for the same reasons.. I think part time is great in theory but you just end up trying to cram a full time job into less hours.. for less money!

    Goodluck
    xx

  5. March 14, 2012 6:04 am

    The different stripes work really well together and I love the necklace 🙂

  6. March 14, 2012 9:40 am

    I’ve just started back with 2 days which will soon move into 3 and I’m kinda scared of simply not having enough hours in the day to do my work! I have to say going back to work I don’t take my time with Tallulah for granted! I’m trying to not spend too much time emailing, texting or phoning when I’m home with T, but its real hard! Finding the balance is going to take me a little while I think!

    p.s- loving that necklace!

  7. March 15, 2012 7:19 pm

    It definitely works on you here! You look amazing. As a freelancer, I get to work from home at nights after the boys are in bed, which has its pros but on the other hand, I’m sometimes quite sleep deprived and not because of the baby!
    Ronnie xo

  8. March 16, 2012 10:55 pm

    Thanks for all you comments. And here I was thinking this was a boring outfit and was close to not posting it!

    Seems we are all trying our best with this whole work/life balancing act. I can’t really justify spending too much time away from Lily on my days off (weekend included) as I just want to spend as much time with her now.

Leave a Reply

