Skip to content

A typical day – Lily at 16 months.

February 20, 2012


Lily in the bath – her favourite time of the day!

I remember writing a ‘typical day’ for Lily when she was 4-6 months. It was based on having somewhat of a routine (and I’ll use that term loosely) to fit in all the milk feeds, solid meals, and getting her to sleep.

Now that Lily is 16 months, she is a great at putting herself to sleep (except if she is sick or teething) and she doesn’t have a lot of milk feeds anymore (we are down to just one).

Our routine is now based on activities that we have planned for the day (i.e swimming lessons etc). And having a routine also helps when I go to work because she is ready to go to daycare and I’m back in enough time to get ready myself.

This is currently a ‘typical day’ during the week when I’m not at work:

6.45 am – My dear husband (DH) wakes up Lily while I slowly get ready to face the day (I’m so not a morning person!). He tries to feed her milk (which she isn’t finishing nowadays) and feed her breakfast. I take a shower.

7.15 am – DH walks to train station (we are only 5 minutes walk away) and I finish getting ready. I then go and play with Lily in her room. We sing, dance and read together.

9.00 am – I feed Lily morning tea while I eat breakfast. I either do some chores in the kitchen while she is eating or I put her in room to play on her own.

10.00 am – This time is usually taken up with Lily’s swimming lessons or a gym class for me (she goes in the creche) depending on the day. I’ll change her out of her pajamas and pack her nappy bag and we go!

11.00 am – We come back home. By this time, Lily is absolutely knackered and I put down to sleep. This is when I usually finish doing chores (harder now that I work 3 days a week) and hopefully get some time to catch up with emails/blog etc.

1.00 pm – Lily usually has a 2 hour sleep and I feed her lunch when she wakes up. She is a good eater and lunch is probably her biggest meal with meat, carbohydrates, vegetables and yoghurt.

2.00 pm – This is when we go shopping for groceries. It’s been so hot lately that we haven’t walked to the shops for ages. So usually we end up driving which isn’t too bad because I tend to avoid the near-by <insert major supermarket chain> now and go to a grower’s market instead.

3.30 pm – We come back home and Lily has afternoon tea.

4.00 pm – We then have another play in her room. And if the weather isn’t too hot, I’ll take her to a nearby park.

5.30 pm – Lily has dinner and DH comes home. He will then have a shower and then gives Lily her bath.

6.30 pm – DH plays and reads to Lily. Lily’s room gets cleaned (by the end of the day it looks like a tornado has hit it!).

7.00 pm – Lily goes down to sleep (usually straight away!). And if I didn’t make to the gym earlier this is when I go. Or I’ll start dinner and DH goes for a run.

8.00 pm – We finally eat dinner and watch TV/movie together.

11.00 pm – We have showers and go to bed.  Most of the time we don’t hear a peep out of Lily until DH wakes her up the next morning!

On my work days, I would wake up earlier and take Lily into daycare at 8.00 am after feeding her breakfast and having a little play. I will then finish work at 5.00 pm and if DH hasn’t collected her early, I would get her at 5.30 pm and feed her dinner straight away.

What is your typical day/routine like?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. DesertDarling permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:44 pm

    Your day sounds really nice. I admire how you still make time for the gym. It’s good your DH gets plenty of time with Lily.

    Our lives are much more ‘routined’ now I’m back at work.

    The Mister and I wake up at 5am,
    5.30am Bay wakes up, usually just in time to say good morning to The Mister who leaves for work at 5.45am if he’s on dayshift.
    I breastfeed her when she wakes up, then we have a quick play and get ourselves dressed.
    Leave for daycare 6.30am and I get to work just before 7am.
    She has breakfast at daycare, as well as morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. She still has two naps most days.
    At 4pm I finish work, duck to the supermarket if I need to, then pick her up from daycare.. We play and have stories, dancing and games and I start cooking dinner about 5.30pm (and Bay ‘helps’ 🙂 The Mister gets home about 6.15, we all eat dinner together as soon as he gets home, then one of us bathes Bay while the other cleans the kitchen.. we take turns.. then she has another breastfeed, bedtime story and into bed around 7pm. Thankfully she also goes down very easily and is sleeping through these days. I guess this is when I should go for a jog or something!! Instead I will read a book, get up to date on my fave blogs, do some study or just watch tv with the Mister.. I try to go to bed before 10.30pm.

    On my days off we plan our outings around her two naps with things like going to the pool, going to the park, playdates with friends or sometimes just hanging at home. I really savour my time with her now I’m back at work
    .
    When The Mister has her on his days off I think all structure goes out the window, as he’s not really intersted in routine!! But I’m sure she has a pretty good time 🙂

  2. February 21, 2012 10:13 pm

    I had your husband’s shift when I was up north and I don’t miss those looong days.

    I too savour my time with Lily on the weekend. And if friends want to catch up they will have to do it at a ‘child friendly’ place as I bring her along. I want to spend as much time with her since we don’t spend every minute of every day with each other now.

    Thanks for sharing your ‘routine’. It’s really interesting to see how do the daycare run. I like how start dinner while Bay is awake…I will try doing that but Lily is very clingy at the moment!

  3. DesertDarling permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:04 pm

    What field are you in Sass? (if you don’t mind me asking!) You used to work at TP from memory..? Or am I just making that up!

    Our dinners are much simpler these days, mainly because I haven’t got the energy for anything too complex… Often I’ll take the meat and vege to the outdoor table and just chop it all up out there while she plays outside with the hose.. I also have a tupperware cupboard in the kitchen that I let her go through while I cook, she loves taking out the lunchboxes one by one and playing with the funnels, sieves and wooden spoons, keeps her occupied while I’m at the stove. But i know what you mean, some days they just want to sit at your hip and makes it all pretty impossible.

    I totally hear ya about savouring time together.. that is definitely a positive about being back at work, I don’t take any of our time together for granted anymore

    xx

  4. February 22, 2012 11:05 pm

    Will email you regarding work stuff. Don’t want to bore readers with what I do!

    Thanks for sharing (again) how you manage to cook and spend time with Bay at the same time. I think I need to have a dedicated cupboard too but my kitchen is pretty small as it is!!

Leave a Reply

