Skip to content

The ones that got away…

February 12, 2012

Source: danishbydesign.com.au via SassandSpice on Pinterest

Source: bambinipronto.com.au via SassandSpice on Pinterest

Source: ecotoys.com.au via SassandSpice on Pinterest

Source: ubabub.com via SassandSpice on Pinterest

Source: toysparadise.com.au via SassandSpice on Pinterest

 

 

 

 

Lily has sadly outgrown most of these baby products, but for a number of reasons I just never managed to get any of these despite coveting them for so long.

We couldn’t justify the price of the cradle at the time given we had already spent so much on other big ticket items (pram, car seat, rocker etc).

It was unfortunate that I only saw the beautiful Ubabub cot and the wooden activity gym after buying a cot and gym already. And I regret buying our cot, as the paint has already come off.

I was very close to buying the ladybird Wheely Bug and the First Plan pull-along snake but Lily received similar toys for her birthday from family and friends. I don’t feel comfortable giving presents away (which were specially chosen from loved ones) simply because it wasn’t the exact item we had in mind. If it does the same thing, it will do! And Lily is very fortunate to have received these presents in the first place.

So even though I missed out on getting these things for Lily, I think if I’m lucky enough to have another baby in the future it would be nice if he/she doesn’t receive all hand-me-downs and have some special things to call his/her own. So maybe I’ll be able to get some of these things after all?

At the end of the day though, these things are just that…things. And really these items are probably more for me as I doubt very much that Lily cares if she got these things or not!

Do you have any things that you wished you purchased for your baby?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 8:01 am

    If it makes you feel any better, my parents bought the ladybird wheely bug for my nephew before he was one and he couldn’t use it properly until he was over two! He is a tall! little guy but you really need long legs and lots of power in you to move that thing! I think it’s all the padding as it boosts them up off the ground so much and leaves there little legs dwindling. It’s not the easiest thing to push either so probably best you didn’t invest in this one!

  2. February 13, 2012 8:02 am

    Just realised I have a spelling mistake *their little legs…

  3. February 13, 2012 12:36 pm

    Lily got given a plastic car and she can’t really use that properly yet either. Funny that she can run around but she can’t move her legs forward sitting down on that car…so your nephew isn’t the only one!

  4. Desert Darling permalink
    February 15, 2012 11:23 am

    My list of things I wish I hadn’t bought is a lot longer than the list of things I wish I had!

  5. February 20, 2012 9:52 am

    I love the Ubabub cot! It is so cute.

    Putting one of them on my wish list incase we have another bub!

Leave a Reply

