Skip to content

LOTD – Metallic, Pleats, and Scallop

January 22, 2012

{Outfit}

Top: River Island (Non UK residents can get this brand via ASOS)
Skirt: Topshop
Necklace: House of Harlow
Bracelets: Pigeonhole
Belt: Topshop
Shoes: Witchery

It’s been a loooong time since I posted a ‘look of the day’, and right after my love of Lily, my husband, and my family;  fashion (clothes, accessories etc) play a big part of my life *. So even though this space will never be a full on fashion blog, I hope to include stylish bits and pieces which don’t revolve around babies.

I am struggling a bit to get back into the groove with fashion though. And it doesn’t have to do with weight (I’m not fussed with getting back to the same weight that I was before pre-pregnancy) or finding clothes to fit around breastfeeding (it’s been 5 months since weaning). It’s really about finding a ‘style’ that I think defines the person I am now.

I’m no longer in my twenties, I’m married, I’m now a mother, and I’m no longer frequently going out to bars/clubs like I did before having a baby. A lot has changed and therefore a lot of the clothes I see in my wardrobe just doesn’t fit around my current lifestyle.

Lately I’m definitely more inclined to dress classically. I want to be comfortable but still be stylish. It’s so much easier to dress myself with proven fashion combinations so I’m not spending a gazillion years getting ready to make a revolutionary statement (Lady Gaga I’m not). Plus my time is limited with having an additional person to dress **.

There is still the ‘old me’ that lurks with fashion though. I do add a slight twist (different cut, quirky accessories etc) to the way I dress so I can still express my personality and have some fun.

I still love mixing thrift with high street and a bit of designer – since I’m more inspired with street fashion. So I still avoid the overly merchandised look. I tend to gravitate towards an eclectic  look- rather than one designer head to toe . I don’t like wearing a mish-mash of obvious brands as I’m not a walking advertisement.

But I do like great design and fantastic quality and having Asian genes probably make me swoon with delight to certain brands (Chanel anyone??).

However, I don’t want to look exactly like everyone else. I still want to be creative and courageous. I still want to be me.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is that I still want to express my personality but I don’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of time picking an outfit which probably won’t  be appropriate for what I have planned for the day anyway ***.

So the outfit above is a good example of what I tend to wear now. I got the skirt a few seasons ago (online) as I love how it moves and the feminine touch it brings to an outfit. The top I got a few months ago when I was in the UK as it was a combination of two things I love – metallics and scallop detailing. The texture is lovely too and it isn’t too heavy either – which is great for the hot Perth climate. The necklace was a Christmas present from DH **** – my second House of Harlow item.

So how have your fashion choices changed recently and why?

::::::::

* Food is probably an equal second. Having a baby hasn’t changed my love of good food – cooking, eating out and trying new flavours.

** Dressing Lily is no easy task. She is incredibly impatient and would much rather kick violently and scream than let me put her in some decent clothes. I don’t look forward to it all…dampens the whole dressing up experience for sure!

*** More likely to be a supermarket trip as opposed to a music festival I’m afraid!

**** This necklace reminded DH of bunting and since he knows I have a slight obsession – he bought it! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 11:26 pm

    Pretty!
    First thing i noticed was the HOH necklace hehehee, your husband picked a good one! Love your style too, it’s a nice mix of edge and feminine, as you’ve said it yourself.

  2. January 23, 2012 5:17 am

    You look wonderful, so does Lily? It’s important to keep personal passions alive once you’re a mum, it’s not like you stop being you.

  3. January 24, 2012 4:37 am

    Very pretty- love the outfit- can’t wait to get back into real clothes again

  4. Desert Darling permalink
    February 5, 2012 9:26 pm

    You both look gorgeous xx

Leave a Reply

