Skip to content

If the shoe fits

January 15, 2012

We all upgraded our running shoes this weekend. Lily has outgrown her Adidas and now wearing her Nikes. DH upgrades his running shoes every year and I thought I should too especially since mine are more than 3 years old and I want to get back into running again.

We went to the Running Centre in West Perth and we got our feet measured and analysed via video. I have ‘overpronation’ (where the foot rolls inward more than normal) and I could definitely tell the difference wearing shoes fitted for my running style.

I was also told that sports bras need to be upgraded every year too, and since my boobs have changed size yet again (post breastfeeding ugh), I thought I should get fitted and buy one as well.

Hopefully these new fitness items will get me back into running again. I’ve been scared to run after hearing horrid stories with pelvic floor muscles being so weakened with pregnancy and labour that it’s quite common to wet your pants and not even know!

I’ve been going to the gym but finding the time to run is hard as I want to spend every minute I can with Lily. Plus the gym has a creche and I would only have the evening to run after DH comes home (around 6.30) to mind Lily.

But by the end of the day I’m so knackered with running after a toddler, running 5-10km is the last thing I want to do. Especially knowing I have to cook and do all the other things I can’t do during the day (like painting my nails…an impossible task to do when you have a clinging toddler).

How are you guys keeping fit this year? Do you change your sports shoes and bras every year?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 8:30 am

    Very snazzy new shoes! I probably need to replace my Nikes but they still look good, feel fine and aren’t falling apart so I’m hanging onto them for the moment. My man definitely needs some though – at the moment it’s his excuse for not doing a single bit of exercise. I should have been more proactive in the sales I suppose!

    As for the running and pelvic floor worry – would some simple Kegel exercises help?

    Sal x

  2. January 17, 2012 10:40 am

    I used to love running but my fitness has lapsed so much lately that I’m scared to try again! I’ve embraced swimming and I’m LOVING it. But good shoes are SO important when running, I get awful heel pain if I don’t have enough support and then I’m out of commission for a few days to recover… which makes going for a walk seem rather redundant!

  3. January 18, 2012 10:36 am

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment! 🙂

    You also have an amazing blog with such beautiful photos. Your little daughter is so adorable!! Enjoy those precious baby moments.. I’m totally missing having a baby around since my little one is about to start grade school soon!!

    I will be following via email subscription. 🙂

  4. January 20, 2012 7:19 pm

    Sal – Sales are still on so you might get a bargain still. I was doing kegels throughout pregnancy but I remember really struggling to do even one a couple of weeks after giving birth. I think it’s back to normal now though.

    Jacki – Swimming has the advantage of being low impact – I’ve always been better on land.

    Jennifer – Thanks for visiting! I now know what everyone means by enjoying every moment because they do change so quickly. Starting school is such a huge thing!!! I would be crying on my baby’s first day for sure!

Leave a Reply

