Skip to content

A new year

January 7, 2012

How was everyone’s New Year? We ended up going to a friend’s place where Lily had fun chasing and mimicking a 2 year old boy (who understandably spent most of the night ignoring her) before crashing out at 8pm and therefore missing out on the all important countdown.

As we counted down, I listened to everyone around me reflecting on their massive adventures – in tune with the nearby fireworks. I couldn’t help but think my year seemed dull in comparison.

But 2011 does hold such special and happy memories for me. I started off the year as a brand new mother – not really sure what I was doing. And after a year of successes, gambles, tears, laughter, and a whole lot of nappy changing, I feel I have definitely grown more confident about this whole mothering thing.

I know I still have a lot to learn, but feeling very proud of the little girl I have helped to develop and grow. And I’m looking forward to this year – hoping to focus on myself again.


Fun with dressing up


Lily’s Christening


Trips to Brisbane, Melbourne and the UK


Many milestones for Lily (Here sitting for the first time)


Beach trips


Walks galore


Friends getting hitched


Lily’s 1st birthday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 5:55 pm

    I think I will be looking back on 2012 in the same way!
    What a beautiful little girl (not baby anymore) Lily is growing into!
    Well she was a beautiful baby too!

  2. January 8, 2012 9:30 am

    Happy new year!

    We, too, went along to a party with friends and watched the fireworks over Brisbane River. It was nice to sip champagne and catch-up with friends who live overseas now. Brisbane is so small though – we turned up and ended up knowing far more people than expected! It’s nice when that happens though.

    Sal x

  3. January 8, 2012 7:06 pm

    Sammie – Yeah she is definitely in the toddler stage now. I hope 2012 will be a fab year for you both as well and look forward to reading about your mummy adventures.

    Sal – It’s nice when you bump into people. Perth is definitely like that too.

  4. January 10, 2012 7:41 am

    What a great post! You can see how much Lily has grown in just a few short months. She is already a beautiful little lady. 🙂 And smashing milestones like nobody’s business!

  5. January 12, 2012 11:59 pm

    Thanks superluminous. Like most babies/toddlers, she is doing some milestones quickly and others not so quickly. She definitely isn’t a baby anymore.

Leave a Reply

