Skip to content

L-I-L-L-Y

December 13, 2011

A few days ago one of my friends came over to give Lily a late birthday present. When I was opening the gift she started to blush profusely and then kept apologising over a miscommunication with her mother.

And as I looked at the beautiful towel set, Lily’s name was staring at me…except it was spelt ‘Lilly’. My friend’s mother went through all that effort to sew her name on the towels but had obviously misspelt it.

I’m not fussed – as they are still gorgeous towels – and it was a very generous gift.

But it made me wonder if Lily was going to be burdened with having to spell her name. We have a long cumbersome surname already and I assumed her name wouldn’t be too complicated to misspell. But then again, does it really matter?

Do you have a name that gets misspelt often?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 11:50 am

    oh I’ve always had to spell my name! the best was reneigh HAHAH

    Tallulah will have to spell hers forever…I don’t think it matters these days!

    Those towels are so great!

  2. December 14, 2011 1:45 pm

    Oh whoops! We got a similar gift when Bay was born.. a beautiful soft blanket with her full name embroidered, but the middle name is spelt wrong. We use it a lot but I always think WRONG NAME and usually put it name side down, or fold it so the spelling mistake isn’t visible..

    Either way you decided to spell her name you’d have people spelling it the other! I prefer the way you’ve spelt it. At least she will have only four letters to spell out..
    I have a very common name (Emily) but I still have people asking me if it’s ‘two Ms?’ or ‘Y or IE?’

    The Mister has a really unusal first name which people can neither spell OR pronounce and it’s people like him who have it the hardest!

  3. December 14, 2011 7:01 pm

    YES! Lots of people spell Rhonda without the ‘h,’ it’s mind boggling!
    Ronnie xo
    (Woops, did I just reveal my real name!? hehe)

  4. December 14, 2011 8:43 pm

    That was a lovely gesture of your friend’s mum to sew for your daughter, kinda funny that there’s an extra L in it though hehe.
    My name is always spelt and pronounced wrong but it doesn’t bother me anymore.
    My married surname is just as difficult to spell and not many people can say it properly on the first go, but hey it makes for a good conversation 🙂

  5. December 15, 2011 11:07 am

    My sons middle name is so hard to spell. We were so worry when we received Birth certificate but phew! it was ok. Your friend so sweet she made something like that. I never receive anything handmade much these day -_-

  6. December 15, 2011 7:53 pm

    Oh dear! I must admit I’ve never seen Lily spelt as Lilly. My name is relatively easy to spell but people often spell it with a “S” instead of a “C” haha

  7. December 17, 2011 5:58 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen it spelled with two L’s either. I don’t think she’ll have to worry about having it misspelled too often. I know I will sound really precious, but I don’t think I could use misspelled towels 😦 I must be such a princess. People misspell my name constantly.

Leave a Reply

