Skip to content

Paper book wreath

December 10, 2011

I was thinking of buying this paper wreath but thought the AU$250 price tag was a bit too steep. So after seeing this tutorial for an identical wreath, I thought it looked ‘easy’ enough to make.

Now folks even though I’m a huge advocate of handmade and creative crafty wares, I’m actually hopeless at making things myself. But a girl mum needs to start somewhere right? And what better excuse than Christmas to get started at being crafty?

I had most of the materials: An old book which I very doubt I’ll read again (Diary of a Married Call-girl will definitely not be missed), glue (didn’t bother getting a glue gun), and a styrofoam wreath just lying around the house. Okay I lie. I didn’t have a styrofoam wreath and had an inkling that this would probably be hard to find in Perth.

Luckily, good ‘ol Spotlight had plenty in stock. Phew!

I didn’t bother spraying the wreath with glitter and even though I took great pleasure in ripping apart an old book, it still took a solid 5 hours to make. And now looking at the photos, I probably want to add a few more rolls to make it plumper. But it was fun to make and I’m glad it saved me money too.

What do you guys think?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 9:18 pm

    I am so impressed. Your wreath looks fabulous! Better than the original. $250 for five hours work isn’t too bad.. maybe you should go into business 🙂

  2. December 11, 2011 5:35 am

    I agree I love yours. I’m also curious about the lovely felt balls in the last photo.

  3. December 11, 2011 9:31 am

    That looks amazing! Well done.

  4. December 11, 2011 11:53 am

    That looks fantastic! Congrats!

  5. December 13, 2011 10:14 am

    Holy… wow! I read your post without checking the link and thought those pics were of the $250 one, and then realised it was yours – it looks fantastic!! Well done 😀 And lol at the title of the book for your Christmas wreath – that’s a bit saucy 😉

  6. December 13, 2011 1:07 pm

    Nice work. I like the old book as material. Maybe I should make one myself??? If I have time before Christmas…..I still have to alter the curtain first -_-! Hope to see you little Lily in little red tutu….would be so cute. By the way are you Thai?

  7. December 13, 2011 1:45 pm

    Thanks guys!
    Lila – I got the felt balls from the Perth Upmarket. They probably aren’t too hard to make though
    Kiki – haha yes the book was given to me by a friend ages ago (honest!!) who loves chick lit…unfortunately it didn’t do it for me.
    Bunnyhop – You should definitely try making it if you have time after altering the curtains. My parents are Malaysian Chinese (I was born in WA) but I was married in Thailand and Lily was conceived there (*blush*). So Thailand holds a special place in my heart…

Leave a Reply

