Skip to content

The tree is up

December 4, 2011

Today I’m suffering from a serious hangover from my work Christmas party. I haven’t achieved anything today besides feeding Lily and generally feeling sorry for myself. It seems so foreign to me now but it wasn’t too long ago when I used to spend every other weekend in this state – I really must be getting old.

So it was a good thing that I managed to start on the Christmas decorations yesterday.

The tree is finally up! I assumed Lily would have destroyed it by now, but she has surprised me by being really careful when she handles the decorations. She can be so well behaved when she wants to be.

I have a white tree which my mum thinks is plain weird. I like the modern feel and clean palette from a white tree but my plan is to buy a real (green) tree now and again too.

I have collected many baubles over the years. I especially love checking out the Christmas markets held all over Europe and I usually pick up a bauble or two. My favourite is the first bauble I got to commemorate my first Christmas shared with DH.

Spotlight is always a great stop for Christmas decorations. I got a quite a few things since everything seems so cheap. If time permits, I’m hoping to do some DIY decorations too.

I got these felt balls from the Perth Upmarket. I’m tempted to leave these up permanently – like the Ikea star light I have ‘forgotten’ to take down from last Christmas.

And of course the mantlepiece takes centre stage – well after the tree that is.

Click here to see my decorations from last year.
How have you decorated your house for Christmas?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    December 5, 2011 7:55 am

    I love those felt balls, I want them for the playroom….. So jealous you went to Perth upmarket, I was trying to get there but the 6 wk old and 2yr old weren’t so willing!

  2. December 5, 2011 10:20 am

    I just made it to the upmarket with less than an hour to go! The last time I went was when I was still pregnant so I know what you mean when you say that certain little ones dictate whether we can go or not 😉

  3. Desert Darling permalink
    December 6, 2011 5:59 pm

    Your decos looks great! I can see that the white tree fits in nicely with the feel of your home.

    The hangover doesn’t sound like much fun..I haven’t given it a proper crack since having baby, I’m not game yet, pretty sure I’d be feeling every one of my years 😦

  4. December 14, 2011 6:58 pm

    Wow, well done Sass! This looks so nice, I especially like the felt balls and the silver reindeers on the mantlepiece. Such a nice touch! We’re moving next Tuesday so no Christmas decorations for us until next week… wish me luck!
    Ronnie xo

Leave a Reply

