Skip to content

All that glitters is gold

November 29, 2011
tags: ,

I’ve fallen in love with gold again. For many years I thought it looked a too ghetto and gaudy on me but I’m warming to it more now. Like with a lot of things, I blame Carrie Bradshaw for her influence.

Anyway with the silly season approaching, I would love to introduce a bit of gold to add to the festive spirit. Gold nails would add a little sparkle and certainly be cheaper than splurging on jewellery.

What do you think of these looks?


Image courtesy of MakeupSavy

Nude with a little sparkle…

You can add extra colours…

Image courtesy of Weheartit

Image courtesy of Lyndarthemerciless

Or do a gradient effect…


Image courtesy of Lace

Of if you are game, an ombre effect…


Image courtesy of Chloe’s nails

Or just completely cover your nails with gold.


Image courtesy of Tumblr via nikkid1230

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 4:39 pm

    Beautiful inspiration, definately will be trying some glod glitter on my nails 🙂

  2. November 29, 2011 5:08 pm

    I agree – Carrie Bradshaw is one sassy lady. I love the idea (especially that silver one!), but I’ve given up hope of ever maintaining a manicure past the first hour with kids… it just doesn’t seem possible for me to not scratch my nails!
    Ronnie xo

  3. November 29, 2011 7:24 pm

    I love the gradient effect, especially over the taupe like that. I’ve avoided gold too because I don’t think it’s that great with my skin tone, but those pics have inspired me to maybe go the subtle gradient 🙂

  4. November 29, 2011 7:46 pm

    I’ve been feeling the same way about gold myself lately. I even wore a pair of scrappy gold shoes that had been packed away gathering dust for years!
    I love the gold sparkles and nude combos! Something you could get away with a work even.

  5. Desert Darling permalink
    November 30, 2011 8:55 am

    actually loving the complete gold coating.. though they all look very festive.!!

  6. December 1, 2011 11:22 am

    yesssssss! so good

Leave a Reply

