Skip to content

A double life

November 27, 2011


My lovely nieces

My life seems to be surrounded by twins.

At just 31 weeks, my good friend gave birth to twin girls yesterday.

My sister-in-law has twin girls which she gave birth to last year (also at 31 weeks). Her sister-in-law gave birth to twins a month before her.

Another good friend of mine is an Aunty to twins who were born two weeks before Lily.

My high school had six sets of twins in my year.

And DH’s other claim to twins is that two of his ex-gfs were twins (not to each other though!).

Obviously my baby war stories were never going to compare to my sister-in-law. It’s been tough. Really tough for her. And admittedly I felt relieved that it wasn’t me who was a mother to twins. I couldn’t imagine doubling the chaos and trying to split my time between two babies.

You know what they all say…”It’s hard enough managing one’.

But after meeting the twins in the UK, I realised what a true blessing it was to have two beautiful babies who are already best friends. It was fascinating watching how well they interact with each other. At such a tender age, they already share this close and special bond.

They will grow up to witness all their special moments together. Always having each other to rely on and totally getting each other while the rest of us non-twins are crying into our pillows wondering why no one in this world understands…

It’s kind of envious in a way isn’t it?

As I was telling work about my connection with twins, my colleague tells me that twins are manageable.

And who the hell does he think he is right? Well, he is quick to point out that he has triplet sons!

Do you have twins or multiples in your life?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 9:02 am

    Twins are quite amazing, I do agree. My brother’s girlfriend has twin nieces and they are about two and a half now. I see them infrequently but when I do I just melt! They are incredibly vocal for their age and are just so funny to watch and interact with. My favorite moment was them sitting at the table singing nursery rhymes together and they killed the alphabet too!

    I do have mild anxiety about having twins though… I want to enjoy each baby at a time.

    Sal x

  2. November 27, 2011 11:12 am

    Being a mother of 8 month old twins I have suffered from singleton jealously- I have often wondered how easy it would be with just one. I am truly blessed though and now couldn’t imagine my life any other way!

  3. November 27, 2011 11:47 am

    They are so adorable! I wish I had twins in my life!

  4. November 27, 2011 5:29 pm

    My friend is currently 5 months pregnant with twins! She also has a little girl who is 19 months old!
    It’s going to be super tough for her, but she is so excited and wouldn’t have it any other way!

  5. Desert Darling permalink
    November 27, 2011 8:39 pm

    I think it would be super exciting to know someone having twins.. twins are awesome! Of course it would be hard having two babies the same age, but I wonder if it wouldn’t be even harder to have two close but different ages.. at least with twins the rountines and milestones are all happening around the same time.. either way, there is something special about twins, though if it ever happened to me I’d have a complete meltdown and have to move back to the city to be closer to family

  6. November 27, 2011 11:43 pm

    Sal – I find twin babies to be very sociable with a great sense of humour too.

    Stayday – Your twins are simply adorable.

    Cindy – Be careful with what you wish for 🙂

    Sammie – Congratulations to your friend! Is she feeling nervous at all?

    DD – I hear you. Mind you, my friend who just gave birth to twins doesn’t have any family here, nor does her fiance. They seem so calm and relaxed even though they haven’t bought any nursery furniture yet either!

  7. December 4, 2011 12:46 pm

    A couple from our church has two sets of twins! I think it’s a real blessing, though I’m aware it must be a LOT of work. Still, you don’t know anything else and I truly do love the idea of having two children in one go!
    Love,
    Ronnie xo

Leave a Reply

