Skip to content

Polka dots and Houndstooth

November 6, 2011

I love a good houndstooth print. And after yet failing another go at painting my nails (I suspect the coarse surface of my nails after taking off the Shellac was to blame) I decided to promptly use my Sally Hansen houndstooth nail strips as I only had half an hour left to leave for a baby shower!

Out of all the Sally Hansen nail strips I’ve used, I like this pattern the best – although it probably will be ‘too out there’ for my work.

It was raining today in Perth – which is very rare for November. So I decided to wear my Primark patterned tights. I got two pairs when I was in England because I know they wouldn’t be the best quality but they were so cheap at under 5 pounds.

My friend’s baby shower was really relaxing. No games – which was a great relief to me as it gets a bit too much when there is game after game. Especially when you have a glass of champagne in your hand happily chatting away and suddenly you get ordered to stop what you are doing to participate in the’guess the chocolate in the nappy’ game!

I have two friends who are are due anytime now. The first was the one that had the baby shower and she is 37 weeks pregnant. I’m so happy for her because she has been trying for a while and IVF has finally been successful.

My second friend is pregnant with twins and she is 28 weeks pregnant. She has been in hospital for two weeks since she has pre-eclampsia and in that time she moved from Sydney and bought a new house in Perth! But the doctors aren’t letting her go for that much longer and she will likely have a C-section before 30 weeks.

Very different pregnancies but I’m excited for both of them!

How was your weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 2:12 am

    Love the nails very chic! Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

  2. November 7, 2011 7:57 am

    oh I love me some Sally Hansen nail strips! I’m kind of partial to the 60’s flower one…so gaudy its good! So does shellac totally ruin your nails? I was thinking of getting some…maybe not!

  3. November 7, 2011 8:59 am

    Thanks Jennifer

    Renee – shellac doesn’t ruin your nails. I took it off myself and you have to scrap which made my nail coarse. I probably should have waited a couple of hours before putting on a new colour.

  4. Desert Darling permalink
    November 8, 2011 8:40 pm

    Ahh how I miss Primark.. love those tights! And the nails look great too.

    I am not a fan of baby shower games either. Lounging around with a glass of champers sounds like a much better option to me.

Leave a Reply

