Skip to content

Birthday in the park

November 2, 2011

Lily’s first birthday party went by so quickly. I’m so used to being a social butterfly and making sure I mingle and chat to every single person at parties. But of course this was a kid’s party, so it was absolute madness. I was not dissimilar to a referee running all over the place. I was either trying to console kids when they were crying, picking up Lily when she tried to crawl away, or making sure the shy kids got some food. It was a constant state of activity – not my idea of being ‘hostess with the mostess’ – but hey the kids enjoyed themselves.

I was so busy I didn’t get a chance to take photos, but here are a couple of snaps my sister took.

My youngest sister made the bunting. I’m so proud of her as she is so crafty and creative.

We had the party in a nearby park to take advantage of the large playground. It was lovely to be surrounded by majestic gum trees on such a nice spring day – especially when the lowering sunlight catches on the leaves with that amber glow.

I made cupcakes, sausage rolls, pizzas and fruit salad (for the kids). I got my sister to make rice bubble cakes (for the kids) and my dad to fry prawn crackers.

For the ‘lolly bags’ I used cardboard Chinese takeaway boxes and stuffed them with dried fruit, banana rusks and personalised toys (Thomas the Tank Engine, Duplo blocks etc).

I bought sushi from Peko Peko in Scarborough and I got a friend to make the awesome birthday cake – a red velvet cake decorated with bunting. I couldn’t believe she even copied the font from the invitations!

I put down picnic mats with a ball pit and various toys so the babies could have their own area to play.

And sadly this is the only picture of me and the birthday girl. This picture was captured after Lily had her hair pulled, so I was trying to calm her down!

I decided to invite close friends who didn’t have kids as thought it would be great opportunity to catch up. But I found it hard trying to look after kids and have a decent conversation with an adult. Maybe it’s just something I have to get used to.

And a final note….If you don’t want to be stressing on the day…CATER! I now know why there are so many ‘cake making’ shows on TV with so much drama. Cupcake making was enough to make me jump off a cliff so no wonder those people on those shows are downright crazy. Maybe one day I will master icing…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 7:31 am

    Mmm Peko Peko (sorry to focus on the sushi, I can’t wait until I can eat it again), they used to be my regular sushi place.

    You look gorgeous, I love your dress and Lily’s as well. It looks like it was a great party.

  2. November 3, 2011 10:47 am

    oooh! I am SOOO excited about tallulah’s party its in 1 1/2 weeks! But I’m scared that I’ll be running around like a headless chook I won’t be able to enjoy it haha!

    Did you have to look after a bunch of kids by yourself? Insane!!

    I love the bunting and that cake is amazing!

    I am having a photobooth (hopefully!) so I’m hoping I’ll capture the day without stress!

    I love a good party!

  3. November 4, 2011 12:06 am

    Jess – Whoops sorry for mentioning food! The only pregnant girl that was invited ended up going to hospital for pre-eclampsia so I did a last minute order! Otherwise it would have been too tempting for her!

    Renee – I’m sure Tallulah’s party will be fantastic! I’ve been to so many weddings with photobooths and they are always great fun. Otherwise designate a friend/family member to do the photography! Good luck with it all and can’t wait to hear all about it.

  4. November 4, 2011 3:49 pm

    How cute is Lily in her birthday dress?!!! Love the colours, love the bunting, love the cake, love how you made her birthday so beautiful with out being over the top. Also must say how I love peko peko. I used to live on their stir fries when I was pregnant. We were down south and when I saw they had peko in Dunsborough, I made mr k drive all the way from Eagle Bay three times to get me some:)

  5. Desert Darling permalink
    November 5, 2011 7:37 am

    That is a really beautiful photo of the two of you.
    Everything looked great and that cake is just magical!
    I really need to start thinking about a birthday party!

  6. November 7, 2011 12:14 am

    Spark – Thanks for your lovely comments! I didn’t want to go over the top as anything too structured or themed would have scared the kids (too young to understand) and all of the adults!

    Yes Peko Peko is in Dunsborough too so I always visit that one too. Good to hear I’m not the only fan! nom nom

    DD – Not sure if the photo is ‘beautiful’ but I do think it really sums up how we interact with each other as of late hehehe.

Leave a Reply

