Skip to content

Some new colour

October 26, 2011

I’ve been eyeing the Joseph Joseph Nest 8 bowls online since seeing it around Perth. I love the bright colours and the practicality of having all the bowls fit into each other. What a space saver for the kitchen right?

Image courtesy of Joseph Joseph

I got the Native Union POP phone as a gift from my mum after coming back from the UK. I actually did see people using this in London and frankly thought it was strange. Why do you need a phone for a phone? Well now I’m quite addicted to the ‘retro-ness’ and since the sound is a lot better quality than from the iPhone, I’m finding that I am using it quite a bit. And no, I’m not quite ready to use this out of the house yet…


Image courtesy of Native Union

And I know I’m quite late on the bandwagon, but I finally got shellac’ed over the weekend. I don’t do acrylics or gels so I was a bit hesitant about the whole thing but got reassured that it won’t damage my nails. I’m quite impressed with the fact that it hasn’t chipped yet.

I’m not impressed by the colour range though. Or the fact that you have to go to the salon to get it removed (I’ve seen people do it on their own but it’s a bit messy). And I’m not sure why, but I’m really disliking the colour on my nails. Maybe because I’m so used to changing the colour by now. Or maybe because it reminds me of Barbie. Sorry guys but Barbie is not my style icon.


Image courtesy of the West Australian

I’m quite excited that the Queen is in town. Look how she has embraced colour – I heard an anchor describe it as ‘shocking pink’. Not sure what is shocking about it though!

What is ‘colouring’ your life this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 10:40 pm

    Snap! I’ve got the bowls and had them for a while now. Great quality and wonderful space savers! I bought Sienna some mega watt colour pants from sophie4sophie – they are very bright!

  2. October 26, 2011 11:26 pm

    Oh that’s great to hear that they are great quality. I did see a similar set at Spotlight which looked the same but I’m sure the quality wouldn’t be as good…

    How exciting for Sienna to be wearing colourful pants? Now, is she going to colour block?

  3. October 27, 2011 7:04 am

    Those bowls are adorable! They’d add some much-needed colour to my kitchen! And that phone is GORGEOUS! I’ve always wanted a retro phone like that!

  4. October 27, 2011 8:34 am

    I think we must’ve been sharing the same head space 😉 I love those bowls (and anything by that brand!) and I’ve been eyeing off one of those ‘phones’ for a Christmas pressie.

    I got shellaced as well and I’m amazed it’s still lasting, although with being pregnant my nails are growing insanely fast so there’s already a bit of normal nail showing at the bottom. I don’t know if I’d do it again, like you I didn’t really love the range of colours. I didn’t realise I had to go back to the place to get it taken off – bugger!

    PS: I thought the Queen looked amazing in her Pink outfit.

  5. DesertDarling permalink
    October 27, 2011 11:40 am

    Totally agree about the limited range of colours- though I have to say I love the hot pink and think I might go with that colour next time. Though I know what you mean 2 weeks is a long time with one colour.

    I took the shellac off myself.. I soaked 5 cotton swabs in acetone, put one over each nail and secured onto my fingers with alfoil. Let it sit for about 20mins and then did the other hand.. It came off okay, you sort of have to scrape it off.

  6. October 27, 2011 10:16 pm

    Jacki – The phone handset will be the closest thing to our kids seeing the real thing in an antique shop!

    Jess – We really are sharing the same head space! With your strong nails you must have such healthy hair too.

    DD – The colour might suit you better. Looks a bit washed out on me. Good work on doing it yourself – I don’t think I can be bothered!

Leave a Reply

