Skip to content

The Nursery – A year later

October 18, 2011

A year later, and I’m still loving Lily’s room. It’s pretty much the same except that we have now accumulated a zillion more toys and I got rid of the alphabet letters on the draws since they kept falling off.

Here are my favourite things…

The mobile and tree wall art

Hand knitted blanket from a Great Aunty

The soft toys

Birth notice hand stitched by the same Great Aunty (and if you think the big white space looks odd, it’s because I’ve edited out the surname for this photo)

Flower wall art

The draws and the elephant lamp

The clock (very useful since it’s so easy to lose track of time when I’m playing with Lily)

A messy room. But no point showing something pristine as that won’t prove that an 11 month actually has fun in it.
What is your nursery like? If you don’t have nursery, how would you decorate one?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 5:43 am

    Here is my nursery I decorated for the twins- 7 months on I haven’t changed a thing!

    http://growntogether.blogspot.com/search/label/nursery

  2. October 18, 2011 6:18 am

    I am so naughty. I still haven’t finished Abi’s nursery.
    I keep saying that its ok, because she is still sleeping with us… its not. I need to finish it very soon.
    We have the cow lamp! I like it but I’m not as happy with it as I thought I would be and I need to change the globe or something, the light is so artificial and white.

  3. Rama permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:15 am

    Can you please tell me where the clock and the rug are from?
    Lily’s room is gorgeous!

  4. October 18, 2011 8:46 am

    Do you use the elephant lamp a lot? I’m trying to decide whether I want one of those or another mushroom lamp I’ve spotted around the net.

    Lily is very lucky!

  5. Nicole permalink
    October 18, 2011 11:57 am

    Love the chair and rug, can’t wait to decorate my kids rooms…. We just bought a house and move in 3 weeks!

  6. October 18, 2011 12:53 pm

    Sammie – I’m sure the nursery will come together and look great in your new place. I would wait until the newborn stage is over and do it over a period of time as it can be quite demanding to be decorating and doing 3 hourly feeds!

    Jess – I used the lamp when I was doing night feeds. Like Sammie I hated the white globe so I recommend to get a different globe with it.

  7. October 18, 2011 2:00 pm

    Stayday – Your nursery is absolutely stunning. I love the accessories and the Stokke cots. How blessed you are to have twins. One of my closest friends is expecting twins and my sister-in-law has twins too so I feel like I’m going to multiple birth events even though I only have one!

    Rama – I’m not sure if you are in Australia, but I got the clock from Corner Store (http://cornerstore.net.au/) and the Rug from Rug collections (https://sassandspice.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/rugs/). Thanks for stopping by!

    Nicole – How exciting to be moving to a new place. Have you decided if you are getting all new furniture for the kid’s room?

  8. October 19, 2011 4:35 pm

    The nursery looks fab Sass!
    I do love that last photo- nice to see that her room is looking beautifully lived in! I love the cheerful decor.. perfect for a little girl!
    The handmade wall hanging is just so special and I love the kooky collection of soft toys.
    It looks like such an appealing play space, I’m not surprised you lose track of time.
    Bays’ nursery is a bit plain. You have inspired me to jazz it up a bit.

  9. October 20, 2011 8:58 am

    Lovely nursery! Love love love your decorating taste!.

Leave a Reply

