Skip to content

EverEarth Activity Walker

October 12, 2011

Lily had a fever today so I had my husband pick her up from child care early. When I rushed back home I came back to this…


Lily walking towards me!

Of course she had some help… she was greatly aided by the EverEarth Activity Walker. I don’t know much about walkers -except my mother telling me how dangerous they were in the 80’s -but I think they are a lot safer now and it’s a nice surprise to see they have other educational features (Lily’s walker for example has a xylophone, shape shorter and bead maze).

This was a birthday present from my in-laws that we decided to open early. As you may know, I’m not a big fan of all the loud plastic gear and I absolutely love how this walker is made out of sustainable wood. But I’ve come around a bit now that Lily is older to know that most people are going to get her plastic toys (much more accessible and cheaper I guess) and she does genuinely enjoy playing with them. And I guess it’s all about balance at the end of the day, as I’m not going to be throwing away gifts based on whether they meet my aesthetic requirement (because you gotta agree that most plastic toys are damn ugly) and it doesn’t hurt to mix it up a bit.

What are you guys like with toys? Do you tend to avoid the mass produced stuff (e.g. Fisher Price etc)? What other walkers would you recommend?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 8:29 am

    This walker looks fabulous! Totally sturdy compared to our scary looking thing we had in the 80s (my parents were laid back and still are!) — I would go for something like this also as it’s a perfect height, a good sturdy design and the colours are just wonderful!

  2. October 13, 2011 8:46 am

    I love this walker! We got a plastic one for Tallulah which is super ugly and plays annoying music…Ross banned it to the balcony haha! We prefer wood/handmade but we have a nice balance but who are we kidding she loves her plastic gaudy toys!

  3. DesertDarling permalink
    October 14, 2011 7:48 am

    Oh what a beautiful sight to come home to- Go Lily!!

    We have more ugly plastic toys than nice ones! Bay loves them. I just have a big toybox which I pack them all into so at least after she has gone to bed I don’t have to look at them! During the day I only have a few out at a time for her to play with so it doesn’t seem like they overtaking the house.
    I don’t have any recs for a walker but I am thinking of getting one of those trolley things for her to cart around and help her with her balance.. Lily’s one is the nicest I have seen around

  4. October 14, 2011 9:35 am

    That walker is stunning!
    How exciting (but sad too) that it looks like she will be walking unaided very soon.
    They grow way way too quickly.
    Not too many plastic toys in our house and the moment… But it is bound to happen I just know it…

  5. October 18, 2011 1:16 am

    I thoroughly recommend this walker to everyone! Lily has been using it a lot this week which has stopped her from pushing tables and chairs around.

  6. Popsi permalink
    October 18, 2011 10:30 pm

    I don’t usually buy plastic stuff or Fisher Price stuff as well, yes they’re given as presents. I don’t really buy lots of toys anyway because of being given presents! But I do hate the look of them – random fluro colours all jumbled together – the dyes are the strongest strangest colours out there. I am a plastic toy snob, I feel nauseous just being in Toys R Us sometimes

  7. October 19, 2011 8:43 am

    Goodness, Lily is just gorgeous – love that sweet little smile! Can I ask where did you get the walker from? My parents are keen to buy something like this for miss s and I’d love to put them in the right direction rather than receive a plastic atrocity!

  8. October 20, 2011 7:35 pm

    Popsi – I know what you mean about random fluoro colour overload. They say it’s great to stimulate babies but I think it’s too much and most babies probably hate it as much as we do!

    Spark – My in-laws got the walker and since they are in the UK they must have used a site such as SendaToy (http://www.sendatoy.com.au/store/pc/%20EverEarth-Activity-Walker-16p1513.htm) or Entropy (http://www.entropy.com.au/manufacturers/EverEarth/everearth-activity-walker-5417.php). I haven’t told them yet that we opened the present early so can confirm after Lily’s birthday (28/10) if you like?

  9. October 23, 2011 1:39 pm

    You are a love Sass! No worries just thought I’d see if you got it locally and I could send my mum in to buy it:) xxxx

Leave a Reply

