Skip to content

Sleeping beauty

October 7, 2011

Nothing really prepared me with how difficult it would be to get a baby to fall asleep. How hard could it possibly be to close your eyes and doze off? Especially if you are already tired?

Well, Lily proved to me that she would much rather fight it and cry her heart out. And since she refused the dummy, I had to rock her continuously on the fit ball. But as soon as I put her back in the cot, it was like it was made out of needles, as she would start screaming blue murder and I was back to square one.

Thank god she is really good at sleeping now. It’s much easier to settle her as I no longer need to rock her. I started giving her a comfort toy (her tiger Kef) when she was around 6 months and now she associates him with going to sleep. She basically goes out like a light as soon as she grabs Kef. I make sure he comes out with her so she can sleep easier in the pram or at child care.

How cute is she here sleeping on the plane with her tiger?
What are some of your sleep strategies to get your little one to bed?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 7:25 am

    Awe so cute! I’m so lucky to have all of you around to share stories like this, I will definitely be picking your brain when Pecan makes his/her debut.

  2. October 8, 2011 8:31 am

    Gorgeous! Setting a routine really helped us get the littlies to sleep. It’s so wonderful when you can get a good night’s sleep!

  3. October 8, 2011 9:30 am

    I read this post last night on my phone and it made me cry (happy cry) I was up nearly all night with poor Abi who was beside herself and overtired and wouldn’t sleep.
    It’s nice to know that there is light at the end of the tunnel and that people are not ashamed to post about the hard and difficult times that we all go through.

    Love your blog and have been reading lots, just not finding much time to comment… New baby and all that!

  4. Popsi permalink
    October 8, 2011 6:00 pm

    Our son’s bear was indispensable in helping him get to sleep. So we bought another which he found and refuses to be parted from as well. As a result we bought another two and now have four bears in the house – two to sleep with, two as spare. I never want to lose one!

  5. October 9, 2011 12:28 am

    Jess – It’s great to have blogging community. Such a wealth of information out there. How the hell did our mothers do it before the internet?

    Jacki – I’m all for routine as well after seeing how well it worked for Lily. In the beginning I didn’t want to do any routines (topic for another post maybe) but it has made such a massive difference.

    Sammie – Aww you are so sweet! Lil Abi is so lucky to have such a great mother like you. You are doing so well with your posts…geez I find it hard to post now and my baby is almost a toddler!

    Popsi – Buying multiple comfort toys was something I forgot to mention! We currently have two but I might have to get a couple more!

  6. DesertDarling permalink
    October 10, 2011 5:29 pm

    This is something I need to work on!

    I usually feed Bay to sleep but obviously can’t keep doing that forever! We have just started implementing a few more sleep cues such as putting her in her muslin sleeping bag, reading a bedtime story, breastfeed, lullaby, then sleep.. so hopefully when we take the breastfeed out of the equation she will still register that it is bedtime!! Your post has got me wondering if we shouldn’t find a toy of blanket to provide some extra comfort…

    PS looking forward to post on routines- or lack thereof! 🙂

Leave a Reply

