Skip to content

Where have I been?

September 26, 2011

I’m finally back in Oz and it’s good to be back even though the weather isn’t that great today. Lily was good on the flight back so I can can safely say that she did behave well on the plane rather than it being a freak of nature.

Every time I go overseas, I experience a culture shock when I get back, even if I’m only gone for short time. At the moment I’m experiencing:

– Listening to Australian accents and speaking ‘Aussie’ again (or as my husband says ‘American-wannabe’) with pronunciation of words such as ‘yoghurt’ or using terms such as ‘freeway’ and ‘real estate’ again.
– Paying a small fortune at the supermarket. You will not believe how cheap the UK is with food…bananas were under 2 pounds a kilo!
– Driving and walking on well maintained roads/footpaths
– Using lifts with the buggy instead of the escalator (the only way to do it on the Tube!)
– Not seeing beautiful old buildings and big trees full of leaves (besides gum trees) everywhere
– Drinking good coffee again

Besides the mini- trips to the Lake District, Edinburgh and London, we spent the majority of our time catching up with family in one city in the UK.

Can anyone guess where I was from these pictures?

Sorry for the lack of posts again. I’ve finally got my own computer again and have gotten over the jet lag so hopefully should be posting more now. Now to get back to reading my favourite blogs again!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 12:07 pm

    Some things I remember from our UK trip 2.5 years ago…. Groceries – CHEAP! You are so right! We pay so much for stuff here…
    And COFFEE… Couldn’t wait to get back for a good coffee!!!

    Glad to have you back!

  2. September 27, 2011 2:17 pm

    I know what you mean about the culture shock.. whenever I fly back to Perth after extended time away I always feel a bit shocked by how dry everything looks..

    Looks like you were in Newcastle..? (am just basing that on the bridge and football colours.. not too sure where jersey shore or other people fit in?!) We spent some time in Newcastle when we were living in Leeds as had some friends there, I just LOVE the cheeky geordie accent.

  3. September 27, 2011 11:23 pm

    Sammie – Where did you visit in the UK. It was so good to have a decent flat white again.

    DD – YOU ARE RIGHT! I was in Newcastle. I’m married to a Geordie but I don’t think his accent is as strong anymore since he hasn’t lived there since going to uni… but his siblings definitely have the cheeky accent you’re talking about!

    The people are UK celebrities…first one is ‘UK Sweet-heart’ Cheryl Cole. She was from the all girl group ‘Girls Aloud’ and formerly married to Premier football player Ashley Cole…until he cheated on her with a hairdresser. He famously cheated on her once before and she took him back but it looks like this might be final…God I love British gossip.

    The second group of people are from ‘Geordie Shore’ the UK version of ‘Jersey Shore’.

    And the last picture is of Ant and Dec – two comedians from Newcastle who are always hosting shows (i.e. ‘I’m a celebrity get me out of here’) and much like our Hamish and Andy.

  4. October 3, 2011 7:34 am

    Oh I can’t believe I didn’t recognize Cheryl Cole! When we were in the UK she was still Cheryl Tweedy, I think they just got engaged- I think she is gorgeous.. I’m so behind on my UK gossip- I didn’t know he had cheated on her again!

  5. October 4, 2011 10:19 pm

    Yes Cheryl Cole has had a bit of a transformation after that nightclub toilet incident (you know about that don’t you?). Ahh British gossip is so much juicer and nastier than Australian gossip. Lara Bingle where the bloody hell are ya??

Leave a Reply

