Skip to content

Happy Birthday to me!

September 17, 2011

Sorry for being MIA for so long now. It’s been a struggle to use a computer and not appear like I’m ignoring family whilst being in the UK.

But today is my birthday. The first being a mum. And only the second time being away from home. I was treated this morning to a cup of tea, some BBC cookbooks and lots of chocolate cake.

I’m having a great time in the UK relaxing with family. The weather has been very good. I’m enjoying the cups of tea, proper ale, BBC and the frequent Topshop visits.

Lily has settled really well which brings me to talk a little about the plane journey. She surprisingly was very good and I think it came to these three things (and no it has nothing to do with me being an ‘amazing mother by the way):

– The bassinet provided on the plane (I didn’t get this on the Brisbane flight and it really helped as Lily doesn’t like sleeping in my arms)
– The flight coincided with her big sleep so she slept for the majority of the Singapore to London leg.
– Easy entertainment. i.e. The iPhone (to play her favourite music) and iPad (countless applications related to Teletubbies and In the Night Garden).

I wasn’t a big fan of children using the iPads/tablets before having kids (thanks to all the negative press with Suri Cruise) but boy do I understand how great these things are now! This not only save my life on the plane, but I’ve now used it on our car trip to the Lake Districts and the train journey to Edinburgh. A crawling baby certainly hates being strapped in for long periods so I figure some entertainment via the iPad isn’t a bad thing. It certainly makes the other passengers feel better!

The only negative thing is that I’ve permanently got all of the In the Night Garden songs in my head – they are very catchy and annoying!

Hope everyone is well and I promise to post more about this trip. Can’t wait to read everyone’s blogs again. I will be home end of next week.


Image courtesy of BBC

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 10:06 pm

    Oh Happy Birthday to You!!!
    I have been wondering what you’d been up too… so glad to hear the flight went well and thanks so much for the advice! I am filing it away incase we get lucky enough to take an international flight while Bay is still little..

    Looking forward to hearing more about your UK trip when you get the time

    safe travels xx

  2. September 18, 2011 8:52 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    I’d love to be holidaying in the UK right now! Lucky You!!!
    Especially jealous of your Topshop vsits!!!
    Can’t wait to hear more about your trip and what you have been up to.

  3. September 18, 2011 10:38 am

    Happy Birthday!
    Have a fabulous time in UK, look forward to hearing about your trip 🙂

  4. September 18, 2011 12:05 pm

    Happy birthday Sass! I hope you’re treated to a wonderful day in the UK!

    Sal x

Leave a Reply

