Skip to content

Going on a jet plane (Take 2)

September 1, 2011

I can only wish that Lily sleeps throughout the plane journey today, but the chances are pretty slim on a 20 hour flight. And going by her last plane trip, I’m pretty sure she won’t be on her best behaviour.

I’m trying to convince myself that she is now older and can last a bit longer between naps so new faces and toys will be able to keep her busy. And since she is now accustomed to eating, I hope bringing lots of snacks will help too.

No doubt, there will be some points where it will just be a nightmare so we all just need to survive. Got any last minute tips for me? Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 1:05 pm

    No pointers imafraid. Ut wishing you a safe uneventful flight.

  2. DesertDarling permalink
    September 1, 2011 9:18 pm

    Urgh damn wordpress I dont know why I always have such problems commenting on WP blogs.

    Anyway writing out of the 2nd time-
    Perhaps if you and your husband book seats that aren’t next to one another.. so when she gets crotchety she can move to the other parent in a different row for a ‘change of scene’ (and to give that parent a bit of a break!)
    Or even get seats on either side of the aisle so that there is the gap between you for a bit more room for her move around??
    My other trick was to allow a few toys that are normally off limits.. eg. I took the batteries out and bought our tv remote with us for her to play with as she is obsessed by it and not normally allowed to touch it. Or take a portable DVD player and let her watch Dora or Wiggles or whatever TV shows she might like? I have heard in the Night Garden is supposed to make them sleepy .
    You have probably alredy thought of these tactics.. I will be keen to hear all your advice once you have returned!

    I really wish you luck!!

  3. September 5, 2011 10:59 am

    Can’t wait to hear how it went!
    We have our first flight booked already!
    28th Sept – I’m scared! And it’s only Syd – Melb!!!

Leave a Reply

