Skip to content

Mother and Daughter

August 17, 2011

It’s embarrassing to admit, but it hasn’t really sunk in that I have a daughter. Maybe because I just see Lily as a baby with no association to gender yet. But I’m quite looking forward to the whole ‘Mother-Daughter’ relationship as she grows.

I find these pictures of Kate Moss with her daughter Lila Grace quite inspiring.

Image courtesy of Vogue

The picture above is synonymous with the Calvin Klein ads which rose Kate to fame but I also think it’s such a tender pose – very much like ‘Madonna and Child’.

Image courtesy of Vogue

And I adore this picture of Lila helping her mother in the car. Such a sweet moment. You can see more pictures of Kate Moss and her wedding: here.

I’ve had lots of bumps down the road with my own mother. We are good now, but as a teenager it was pretty tough to say the least. My mum was brought up in poor conditions in Asia with a very strict mother who survived the World War 2 Japanese occupation, and her upbringing obviously influenced the very conservative views she still holds on to today.

But even though I wouldn’t class her as my ‘best friend’ she provides helpful advice just because I know it comes from the heart, and it’s interesting to hear an opinion coming from someone sitting on the ‘opposite side of the fence’ from my friends. Oh and this is more embarrassing to admit, but she is the only one I’m brave enough to act all silly with at Zumba!

What’s your relationship like with your mother?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 3:20 pm

    My mum says how much I will love having a daughter because they are like your best friend… But she also says that she hopes my daughter gives me some grief like I did to her when I was a teenager so she knows how she felt!
    I adore my mother. And I can only wish, hope and pray that my daughter feels the same way about me… Maybe I will have to go through the horrid teenager moments (sounds like we had similar mothers during our teenage years) to fully appreciate just how great our mothers really are.
    I hope I can be even half the mother to my daughter that my mother is to me.

  2. August 17, 2011 3:31 pm

    Such beautiful photos. I think any mother child relationship is special, and in my childrens cases much more to do with personality than gender, but it’s different for everyone.

  3. August 17, 2011 8:21 pm

    My mum is like a wise owl and we look up to her. She’s a moody sort of gal, which makes our relationship a bit up and down too.

    I’m not a huge fan of the Kate + Daughter photo. I’m not sure why she felt the need to publish them. I find them posey and pretend.

    Just me. x

  4. August 18, 2011 2:23 pm

    I think Kate and Lila look beautiful- but no surprises there!

    I am really so happy that I have a daughter. I am close to my Mum and she has had a huge positive impact on my life.. I want to do the same for my daughter. I expect that we wont always see eye to eye. But I hope she trusts that I am always doing my best.

  5. August 20, 2011 10:00 pm

    Love my mum but I would love to be closer to her. She has always been a bit of a lone wolf but in later years she has been trying really hard. I do feel for her though as she has been cursed with three highly emotional, artistic (read sensitive), articulate children. Mum is not emotional,particularly sensitive and doesn’t like to “discuss” so there have been quite a few misunderstandings over the years. The gift I hope to give my girl is to surround her with lots of good people in her life so there will always be someone for her to talk to or look up to for guidance, irrespective of how she is feeling personally about me. I hope with all my heart that my daughter will adore me as much as I adore her though!!

Leave a Reply

