Skip to content

Back to work

August 10, 2011

After nearly 11 months of being a stay-at-home-mum, I officially start work again tomorrow.

And I’m as nervous as hell!!

I have spent the last hour packing (and re-packing) Lily’s nappy bag. I have ironed my work clothes (I never do this the night before!). And I’ve been pacing up and down the house, rambling instructions out loud to make sure I’m adequately prepared for tomorrow.

I’m not sure how I’ll go with the whole work life balance. Every working mother I’ve met has admitted it’s really tough to juggle all the ‘balls in the air’. Since this will the be the first time I’ll be back at work as a parent, I’m nervous about whether I’ll still be able to perform well at work but at the same time be a kick-arse mum.

But I’m dead set against trying to prove I’m some sort of super-woman who excels at multi-tasking and thrives on taking on more work. I just want to maximise the time I have at work and at home to do a good job in both environments.

Lily will always be my priority though…so I just have to see how I go with working and being a mum.

Image courtesy of Weheartit

So how have you managed the work/life balance? Or how do you plan to achieve balance when you do go back to work?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 2:43 am

    Hope you have a great first day, I’m sure you’re going to do great. My strategy was just to take it one day at a time.

  2. August 11, 2011 7:44 am

    oooh good luck!
    I have been away from work for nearly 7 months and feel jittery at the thought of going back too.. It’s like I have forgotten how to be switched on and professional!
    I have no doubt you will do a great job, both at work and at home!
    Is Lily in daycare? really interested to hear how she (and you!) find it..
    Best wishes for tomorrow, I’m sure you will knock em dead.

  3. August 11, 2011 9:07 am

    Lots of luck your way. I have a few friends who have gone back recently and they are really enjoying it. They are loving the time to exercise their brain and get around kid-free and then adoring picking up their bubba from day care and having lots of snuggles and love. Their kids are enjoying day care too. The advice they commonly give is making sure that your medicine cabinet is fully stocked up so as to deal with some of the sniffles etc that the kiddies (and the parents) get when the babes first go into childcare so no need to do late night or early morning runs to the chemist for Vicks/ baby panadol etc. Would love to hear about yours and Lily’s respective first days. I think you’ll both do ace!

  4. August 11, 2011 1:52 pm

    I hope you enjoyed your first day back at work! I just started back out at work 2 months ago and I still call whoever has my daughter at least once a day to check she’s ok haha. I’m just happy I only work 3 days a week so I still get 4 days with her xx

  5. August 11, 2011 4:02 pm

    Your first day of work today!
    My last!
    Wow!
    Hope it went awesomely well and you loved it!
    Bet you missed Lily to bits, but it’s the weekend in a sec and you can have lots of cuddles and family fun!

  6. August 11, 2011 6:23 pm

    I hope you had a great first day today πŸ™‚

  7. August 11, 2011 9:33 pm

    I hope both you and Lily had a good first day.

    By the end of my maternity leave I was quietly excited about going back to work. Not that I didn’t love spending time with TLG but I felt that I’ve lost my identity a bit by being mummy 24/7. Thankfully TLG adjusted well to daycare so it was easier for us.

    I went back to work 3 days a week initially. Earlier this year I moved to 4 days a week and Mr Curious went from full time to working 4 days a week as well. It is working well for us, TLG loves having a “mummy day” and a “daddy day”, and both Mr C and I enjoy having a one-on-one day with him.

    There is no silver bullet on managing work/life balance. I am fortunate that I can now work 8-ish to 5:30, not having to worry about work when I get home (before I had TLG I rarely left work before 7pm and stayed late at least once a week). From a career and promotion perspective I’ve taken a back seat but I value family time more than career advancement at this point. It may change in the future. I agree with Lila Wolff, take it one day at a time.

    And one important thing – DON’T FEEL GUILTY! Making things work for you is the best thing to do for the whole family πŸ˜€

  8. August 13, 2011 3:42 pm

    Wow thanks for all the encouragement guys!

    Lila – I like your strategy with taking it one day at a time. No point in stressing ahead of time.

    DD – Lily is in daycare once a week and another day with my mum. Daycare did an 2 week orientation with Lily so she got used to the environment so her first full day wasn’t too bad actually!

    Anna – Lily, DH and I are very sick at the moment with a terrible virus (thanks to daycare). So your friends are so right with stocking up on medicine. I think I’m going to be sick more often now with having Lily in daycare combined with me being around people again at work 😦

    Jade – I’ve been asked if it is possible to move from 2 days as week to 3 so it’s good to hear that you are happy with that arrangement. I rang Lily so many times on my first day!!!

    Sammie – Wow I can’t believe my first day back is your last! It is all happening so quickly. You are really going to enjoy the time to yourself before everything changes!!!

    Jess – Thanks, I actually had a really good day and was surprised that I was able to ‘switch’ back to my professional self instead of bawling my eyes out in the bathroom.

    Ms Curious – Thanks for sharing your experience. I used to work long hours too and then go the gym so obviously that has changed. I’m already sensing that it’s limiting for me to advance up the ladder being part-time and all – which is something I have to get used to. Honestly it’s not easy seeing all these young people with less experience that will probably get more opportunities but I guess that is how life changes and how it is for me at the moment. I’m glad to hear that you have achieved a ‘balance’ that is working well for you, TLG and your husband.

  9. August 24, 2011 7:11 am

    hope it all went well! how frightening. i had a 3 week contract lined up and i piked because of separation anxiety on MY part πŸ™‚ i think maybe its best to ‘feel it all’ – including those feelings of courage, guilt, awesomeness, exhaustion – every one of those emotions. its only when you try and supress them i reckon you can get into trouble. its all natural and normal πŸ™‚ anyway, i really admire you for jumping straight back into it even though you are worried about ‘the juggle’. my bub is 8 months old and i decided for myself that i’ll give myself at least just the first year of her life without working and take it from there. i look forward to reading some of your insights and observations

Leave a Reply

