Skip to content

Screaming

July 20, 2011

Just when I thought everything was going well with Lily not crying much anymore and me finally getting some quality sleep, Lily has decided to throw another spanner in the works.

Lily has now taken up screaming. Frequently. At first it was entertaining and cute that she had
‘discovered’ her voice but now it is really doing my head in!

I’m still utterly confused to why she does this. I thought it might be due to tiredness or boredom, but she seems to do it all the time even when she is obviously comfortable and entertained (i.e. when she has just woken up from a big nap and when we are out and about – which is very embarrassing let me tell you!).

It’s so high pitched and annoying that at times I feel like screaming back at her – but I’ve been told this is only a phase and I should just ignore it. It makes me feel better when I’m out at the supermarket and I hear screams all around me and relieved for that millisecond that it hasn’t come from my baby.

Has anyone got any advice on how I deal with this before I buy some ear plugs? 🙂

The Scream by Edvard Munch – Image courtesy of Wikipedia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 9:15 am

    urghh how annoying! We have had a few random ear-splitting squeals that appear to be just for fun, but sounds as though Lily has taken it to the next level!!
    No advice, I’m sorry! But will be interested to hear what other people have to say.

  2. July 21, 2011 5:24 pm

    it will pass!!! Tallulah went through this and would scream at everything people/fun/upset and now she only saves the earsplitting screams for when she is really upset!

  3. July 22, 2011 12:10 am

    DD – It’s very annoying. I think it comes from her being frustrated at being unable to communicate and being uncomfortable somehow?

    Renee – I thought it will pass, but it has turned up again weeks later! It’s driving me crazy!!! It takes a lot of energy to scream like that, but boy she must have a lot to burn…

Leave a Reply

