Skip to content

What’s in a name?

July 14, 2011

“Would a Lily of any other name smell as sweet?”

When I was pregnant, I had such a hard time deciding on a name. Since I was a 5 years old, I’ve always had my heart set on naming my daughter Lily. But as time went by this name became unbelievably popular (thanks to the likes of Lily Allen, Lily Donaldson, and Lily the adopted baby from Modern Family) so I didn’t think this name was special enough as it seemed too common.

Unfortunately there were only a few names that DH and I both liked which suited our rather long surname. Our mothers were also very keen to get involved and hated every other name except for Lily. And my friends were no help either as they all had opinions about whether they knew a person with that name (“she was an absolute cow from high school” for example) or the name was just too plain ‘weird’.

In the end it was all too hard and frankly after 32 hours of labour, whether it was pure exhaustion or destined fate, I knew I had to call her Lily.

I figured everybody is going to have an opinion about names and even though it’s nice when names have significant meaning and are unique – it’s still just as thoughtful to pick a name because it just sounds ‘right’.

Lily most probably have to contend with a dozen other Lily’s in school and at work but I’m pretty sure she will survive…like I had too as well as most of my friends!

Talking about names, what do you think of ‘Harper Seven’ as a name? I can’t help but think of that episode from Seinfeld when George wanted to claim the name ‘Seven’. Anyhow, I’m sure the parents think her name is just perfect and sounded just right…


Image courtesy of Daily Mail

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 8:48 pm

    I have to admit it tried to get Seven in Eve’s name, I’m glad I didn’t now or they’d always have that parallel to the Beckhams. Harper was a consideration but I felt it was getting too popular.
    I think the thing is that even if Eve was popular I wouldn’t have cared, because when it’s right it’s right, all those name choosing criteria go out the window.
    Lily is a beautiful name, it seems to fit your little girl so well.

  2. July 14, 2011 9:17 pm

    We have a few names picked out already — it was a popular dinner game between the two of us for awhile haha! We originally had a stock of two names per sex but admittedly the list has grown slightly longer! I nudge Dan every time we meet someone with one of the names we like… Slightly obsessed? Yes, we are… just a tad!

  3. July 16, 2011 11:31 am

    Lila – You have the coolest name yourself! Eve is such a beautiful name…

    Sal – You are so organised! It’s good that you and Dan have a list of names you both like, so it saves on the arguing later 😉

  4. July 16, 2011 10:42 pm

    Lily is a gorgeous name. For some reason, Lily brings up connotations of pretty twinkling eyes for me and your Lily certainly has those! We had about 6 girl names and had fairly much decided on boy name prior to miss s’s birth. It took us a good 12 hours before we decided!

  5. DesertDarling permalink
    July 16, 2011 10:54 pm

    picking names is HARD. It would be easier if we only had to please ourselves, but with partners involved it becomes so much trickier.. not to mention mothers, aunts, in-laws who can’t help but share their 2c!

    Lily is a really beautiful choice- and it would have been a shame to be put off by it’s popularity (tho have to say I am yet to meet one In Real Life) You could choose the most obscure name in the world, but that can backfire if a celebrity happens use it, or there is a character in a popular new tv show, your ‘unique’ could just as easily find its way into the Top 100. So much better to just go with a name you love, rather than one for the sake of being different..

    I was surprised by the name Harper Seven. It’s not a bad name (I love the quirkiness of the Seven- haven’t seen that Seinfeld episode) but I thought they’d go with something a bit more feminine and glitzy.. like Venus or Isis or Athena) Harper seems quite literary and bookish to me.. although it was always going to be hard to predict, their kids nameing style is very eclectic!

Leave a Reply

