Skip to content

Crazy about bunting

July 7, 2011

Having a baby has made me obsess about the silliest of things. For instance, I’m currently crazy about bunting. I’ve already decorated Lily’s nursery but if I had to do it again, I would love to include these things:


Pennant wall decal – Image above courtesy of Petit Collage

Ikea FABLER Bed canopy – Image above courtesy of Ikea

Personalised Bunting print – Image above courtesy of chichiboulie via Etsy

Lily’s first birthday is coming up at the end of October and at the moment I’ve done no preparation whatsoever! Maybe it will be a great excuse to incorporate bunting in the theme somehow?

Sigh, I know I need to get started on this birthday party soon…which means thinking about something besides bunting!

Please help! Any tips on organising first birthday parties?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 7:34 pm

    Love bunting!
    We are having bunting in Buggy’s room!!!
    And looks like my sister in law is going to make it too!!!

  2. July 7, 2011 7:35 pm

    I made some bunting for Tallulah’s cot- its sooo easy do it!! I haven already started planning Lula’s first birthday and already purchased some things for it too (and made a guestlist and allocated jobs and a food list) hmmm can you tell I’m a event coordinator in my other life? haha! The best part is shopping for her dress! I have made one purchase there may be another! I’m doing a Japanese themed party! Hilarious!

  3. July 7, 2011 8:40 pm

    Pinterest is always good for looking at ideas! Over the years I have attended lots of first birthdays, its always more about the adults and celebrating their little ones life (plus the fact they as parents have survived!). So for me, first up would be choosing a champagne or cocktail! My mother’s group are all getting together and hiring a place on the river and having a bit of a day party to celebrate. We’ll probably have something small at home too. You could do a theme based around food…i.e. chocolate or icecream or do a high tea. I love the idea of the rainbow cake that is floating around at the moment. One of our friends had a theme of the Chinese horoscope their baby was born under. It was awesome. She had it in the late afternoon/ evening, had her favourite Chinese takeaway cater, chinese lanterns everywhere. It was magical, not too expensive and because it was low stress, she got to talk to everyone and really enjoy celebrating her beautiful babe’s first year of life! How exciting! must get my act into gear for Sienna!

  4. DesertDarling permalink
    July 7, 2011 9:30 pm

    Time to plan Lilys first birthday already..!! where has this year gone?!?
    Bunting is just soo festive.. sounds like a good addition to any first birthday!
    I think invites like these would work well for a birthday party
    http://forwaylater.blogspot.com/2008/03/bunting-birthday.html
    http://celestefs.blogspot.com/2010/05/bunting-invites.html

    I think the style of the party depends a lot of who you’ll be inviting… will it be mainly family, or lots of other kids, or all your adult friends..?
    I have to admit I have been to a few 1st bday parties and have always found them rather tedious.. (about as much fun as baby showers! 🙂 but that was because I was never very interested in kids- thats all changed now I have one of my own of course!.. so I agree with Anna’s suggestion of cocktails and good music for the adults.. If there are lots of kids have it late morning so they are all spritely and keep it short and sweet.
    The 1st bday themes I’ve been to lately was purple (we all had to wear purple), 101 dalmations (we all had to wear black/white), mermaid/under water theme (thankfully no dressing up required for that one) and a jelly bean theme.
    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  5. July 8, 2011 8:39 am

    First birthday parties are tricky — I agree! We celebrated my nephew’s first birthday with a picnic and BBQ in the botanical gardens. His birthday is in August so a day in the sun was fabulous at that time of year. The location allowed for the adults to laze in the sun and drink champagne (not the best combination) and the kids could roam free on the swings and play on their bikes.

    Sal x

  6. July 10, 2011 10:07 am

    Thans for the tips everyone!

    Sammie – How lucky are to have such a sweet sister! Can’t wait to see photos of the room.

    Renee – Your theme is definitely well fit for Tallulah! I didn’t expect anything less of you to have already done so much planning!

    Anna – Eek time flies by so quickly! Seems like yesterday that Sienna was born! I haven’t been to as many first birthday parties as you so thanks for the tips. Rainbow cake will be fantastic! Be a lot of work to make though!

    DD – Thanks so much for the links! The dressing up theme seems like a lot of work (which I would like to avoid!) and I’m sure there will be plenty of time when Lily starts demanding to be dressed up…

    Sal – I think I might do something similar with having a party near the river with a BBQ. And having a playground nearby will definitely help….

Leave a Reply

