Skip to content

King (Queen) of the table

June 22, 2011

You might remember my post about highchairs (and my traumatic childhood experience).  Until recently, I was using the Bumbo seat to feed Lily but thought she would appreciate sitting at the table (And my back and legs are appreciating that I don’t have to sit on the floor to feed her anymore!).

I decided to get the Stokke Tripp Trapp – and I’m pretty chuffed! Lily is a messy eater and the chair is so easy to clean. I personally think it looks very sleek and chic.

Downside is that it is very expensive, but I’m planning to get a lot of use out of it (not just as a highchair) and hopefully it will remain in my house even after Lily moves out!

My mum bought the Ikea Antilop highchair for her house which Lily also loves. Look how relaxed she is in it. It’s also very easy to clean and the best thing is that it’s only AU$30.00!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Desert Darling permalink
    June 22, 2011 9:33 pm

    What a sweet little lady! Think we’ll be going with the Ikea chair when the time comes .. Tho the stokke one looks super stylish!

  2. June 23, 2011 3:54 am

    I think we too will go with the Ikea chair.
    Just makes sense.
    Most people we know have it and say it’s brilliant!
    Although I LOVE all the Stokke stuff and the highchair is no exception.

  3. June 23, 2011 7:07 am

    Sass, the Stokke chair is fabulous! What a fantastic solution to those huge clunky things that you spend all day tripping over! I am making notes now for when the time comes… 🙂

  4. June 23, 2011 8:25 am

    We’re definitely thinking about the Stokke chair. I love that the baby can sit at the table with you like a regular person. Lily is so cute! She really does look very relaxed in the Antilop! I have friends who really recommend it.

  5. June 23, 2011 9:09 pm

    DD & Sammie – The Ikea highchair is so easy to clean and you can put a tray on it if you wish as well.

    Sal – Now that your wedding planning has finished…you need another project right? Highly recommend the Stokke chair…I even want to sit on it!

    Kitty – I’m not that fussed about trays as well so like how the Stokke can be placed at the table so we can eat meals together. Plus, I like how it ‘evolves’ with the child too. You should get it for little Kitty too!

  6. Popsi permalink
    June 28, 2011 10:44 pm

    We love the Stokke chair… my son feels so proud and independent that he can climb into it on his own. And it’s sturdy! We did use the Ikea Antilop during his super messy eating stage when he began solids (boy, it was so nice to put the Antilop in the shower and scrub off the cemented-on Weetbix).

    I’m grumpy though that they sell a version of the Stokke in NZ which is virtually identical and costs only $100! My friend bought two and there’s hardly a difference in quality or style to the Stokke!!!

Leave a Reply

