Skip to content

Post-baby body

June 14, 2011

When I was pregnant, I was constantly worried about what my post-baby body was going to look like. It doesn’t help when you have friends who vehemently state that kids ‘ruined’ their bodies and you are surrounded by cover pictures of super slim celebrities posing in bikinis only 4 weeks after giving birth. Society’s ideal of a post-baby body is to clearly not look like you ever had a baby!

Image courtesy of Celebuzz

So what does my post-baby body look like? Well not like Miranda Kerr’s…

On the positive side, I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight but it’s still hard to accept that my body looks different. My perfect ‘innie’ belly button has been replaced by a weird knob and when I sit up, it looks like a frown.

My belly wrinkles when I do sit-ups and it definitely isn’t as toned as it once was before. I still see a few small stretch marks and a faint linea nigra. My breasts have sagged a bit and my nipples are still huge.

Breast feeding, yoga and exercising at the gym (and Spanx!) has helped though. I used to be quite fit with my running, but haven’t attempted it yet due to horrid stories I’ve heard about weaken pelvic floor muscles (don’t fancy wearing nappies like Lily!) and frankly it’s hard to find the time now. I hope to run again sometime – probably closer to Lily’s first birthday though.

It’s a shame that we don’t celebrate and appreciate how amazing our bodies are for creating, nourishing and birthing a baby. Motherhood is life-changing. Mentally and emotionally it takes to you on a roller-coaster ride to places you’ve never been before or even imagined. And physically it is impossible to go back to exactly how you were before.

There is way too much pressure to go back to our pre-pregnancy body as soon as you give birth. I no doubt want to look good and be healthy but I think it’s important to accept that your body has changed and be proud of the journey it’s been through.

How do you feel about your post-baby body? Or if you are pregnant, are you worried at how you will change?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 6:51 pm

    I think about it all the time.
    I don’t think I will ever look the same and I think I am ok with that.
    I have tried to train throughout my pregnancy, but not as much as I would like.
    I have plans in place for once Buggy comes along, but who knows what will happen there.
    xoxo

  2. June 14, 2011 9:45 pm

    I’ve not yet had the joy of being pregnant (can’t wait for that day to come actually) but have read many journals of late about new mothers and their bodies. It seems the healthiest of women accept that their body has changed and created something amazing. Not accepting that seems to make some women too skinny or larger than their pre-pregnancy size… That’s a women’s psyche for you!

    I agree with you though, western culture really over looks the whole amazing process.

  3. DesertDarling permalink
    June 15, 2011 2:11 pm

    Urgh Miranda Kerr.. Unfortunately she’s my celebrity pregnancy twin.. (You know how there are always a couple of celebrities who announce their pregnancies the same time as you, so you take extra interest in their pregnancies? or was that just me? My other one was Lily Allen, poor girl) anyway- Due dates were definitely where the similarity ends with Miranda and I!
    I’m really struggling to make peace with my post baby body. I still have 6 kilos to lose but I know that even once those are gone, I won’t be the same as I was. I got off very lightly with no stretch marks on my tummy, but it is still kind of floppy and my belly button is sunken and weird. My linea nigra is still there. I don’t think I’l be wearing a bikini again! My nipples are big and dark. But the thing I hate the most is that I look wider and ‘hippier’ than I used to be. I have this horrible thick waisted look, you can tell I’ve had a baby. I hope it improves with time.. but will require some hard work on my part. boo. My pelvic floor is in bad shape too.

    Sometimes when I see my baby doing clever and wonderful things, I feel amazed- not only that I grew her from scratch, but that she is still being sustained and developing entirely due to my body. I probably need to remind myself about that more often

  4. June 18, 2011 2:16 pm

    shoesammie – sounds like you have the right attitude!

    Sal – Interesting how ‘healthy’ in Western culture is attributed to being super skinny rather than having a positive attitude?

    DD – Hmm I would hate having Miranda as my pregnancy twin. (no offence). Well I’m glad to know I’m not the only one with a ‘changed’ body. I’m sure if I meet you I would think you were gorgeous. We are so hard on ourselves aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

