Skip to content

Losing it

June 4, 2011

Ever lose something, turn the house upside down looking for it, and then after a couple of days give up knowing that you will never see it again?

It’s frustrating to know it’s another missing item to add on your list right? I remember losing my first item – a beautiful comb when I was six – a treasured possession (well in my six year old mind anyway) from Bali and couldn’t understand how it could just disappear. Poor mum had to deal with my hissy fits in protest!

Since then, numerous things have gone missing such as my vintage green Pucci scarf,  my black pleated ‘Carrie Bradshaw’-like skirt, my NARS Bronzer, my gold bracelet. And now the most recent thing, the rain cover for the Bugaboo Chameleon pram. Annoying as I really need it since it’s raining now in Perth.

I am refusing to pay over $70 dollars for another one but I just can’t seem to find the darn thing anywhere!

Image courtesy of Bugaboo

So where the hell do these lost items go?? Maybe they get transported via a space-time continuum to another dimension or something. I always imagine that I will one day find every item in one single location and remark with a sigh that “of course, that it is the last place I would have looked.”

So do you have any treasured or must-have items that have gone missing?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 4:55 am

    That happens to me all the time, often when I only just had whatever it was a few minutes ago. It’s extremely frustrating. I hope the pram cover turns up soon.

  2. June 5, 2011 2:09 pm

    Wouldn’t it be cool if everything had a tracker so it would just beep and light up so we can find it? ARGH still can’t find the pram cover!

  3. June 8, 2011 3:07 am

    Yes! Now I can’t find this leather bracelet that goes with everything. So annoying. I do find if I lose perfect things – a blue Michael Stars cardigan in Mexico for example – that I drive myself crazy trying to find the exact replica…

  4. June 10, 2011 5:44 pm

    oh yes.
    The Abyss.
    So many things have disappeared into it.
    Countless socks.. favourite books.. CDs…
    I remember having a little bluebird charm I treasured when I was a little girl.. I was so upset when it got lost. It is probably with your Bali comb.
    A more recent item is an antique silver golf bracelet my Mum bought one each for my sister and I when we turned 21.. it has been a while since I have seen mine.. eek! I refuse to accept that it has disappeared into the Abyss and still hoping it turns up when I least expect it 😦
    Good luck with your pram raincover.. no doubt you still stumble across it next summer!

Leave a Reply

