Skip to content

Chicken with red-wine vinegar and tomato

May 19, 2011

For my birthday last year, I received the wonderful “The Cook’s Companion” book by Stephanie Alexander. Out of all the cooking books I own, this is the one I use the most. It’s comprehensive and resourceful with hundreds of recipes and explanations of ingredients and cooking techniques. The book is categorised by ingredients, very much like a dictionary, so I find it easy to be inspired and appreciate what I’m using to cook.


Images courtesy of Book Depository

At the moment, I’m making the ‘Chicken with red-wine vinegar and tomato’ dish quite a lot – to the extent that I don’t need to refer to the recipe anymore. The depth of flavour and tanginess from the vinegar really makes this dish unique to the usual pasta, stir-fries, curries that I usually make during the week.

Do you have a favourite cookbook or new recipe?

Recipe adapted from Stephanie Alexander (serves 2)

Chicken (since I only cook for two, I find it easier to buy drumsticks, thigh and breast meat rather than a whole chicken)
20g of butter
1 tablespoon of olive oil
4 cloves of garlic
6 shallots
3/4 cup of good quality red-wine vinegar
3/4 cup of tinned tomatoes
3/4 cup of chicken stock
parsley (garnish)
potatoes (boiled)

1. Season chicken and brown in pot
2. In a separate pan, brown shallots and garlic in butter and oil and then add to pot (on top of chicken)
3. Turn up heat and pour in the vinegar.
4. When vinegar has reduced, add tomatoes and stock and bring to boil
5. Reduce heat, cover pot and cook for 25 minutes
6. Season, garnish with parsley and serve over boiled potatoes

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 10:28 am

    I love this cookbook too. I have the earlier orange edition and it’s all stained and dog eared, the way a loved cookbook should be!

    I also ADORE the Tessa Kiros cookbooks. I’m mad for her. x

  2. May 22, 2011 12:09 am

    It’s such a great book..I’m sure my copy will be dog eared too. Haven’t got any of Tessa’s books…must put that on my wish list

Leave a Reply

