Skip to content

Wedding fever

May 1, 2011

The Royal wedding has already been heavily blogged about but I just can’t help but add my two cents worth 🙂

I have been eagerly anticipating Kate’s Catherine’s dress all week and I got even more excited when they announced the dress designer was Sarah Burton. What a dream pairing and such a touching tribute to the late Alexander McQueen.

So when I finally saw the dress for the first time, I have to admit it wasn’t a jaw dropping moment – no doubt she looked ravishing – but since I had an inkling she would go for lace sleeves and an A-line skirt; it was a look I had already expected and predicted.

However I do think the dress was elegant, very reminiscent of both Grace Kelly’s and Queen Elizabeth’s wedding dresses don’t you think? It was the right balance of traditional and modern, regal but modest, and subtle but with intricate detailing. And I think Sarah did a great job with creating a dress fitting for Westminster Abbey and a dress which reflected Catherine’s demeanour – but stayed true to the McQueen style. So the dress wasn’t pushing the fashion boundaries to avant-garde territory – but it was still undeniably Alexander McQueen.

The signature McQueen fitted silhouette, the intricate hand-sewn lace detailing on the bodice, sleeves and skirt, the subtle pleats – such attention to detail but yet quite understated. I bet the dress would have looked amazing in real-life.


Like with all weddings, I especially love the personal touches. The convertible complete with an ‘L’ plate, “W” and “C” balloons and a “Ju5T Wed” number plate was my favourite though. It shows they have a sense of humour!

I wish them all the very best…they seem like such a happy couple!

Wedding fever won’t stop for me as I head to Brisbane this week to attend my husband’s best man’s wedding (he proposed the day after my wedding!). Another fantastic wedding…can’t wait!

Images above courtesy of Getty

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 9:39 pm

    totally agree with everythng you have said about her dress. I think she looked undeniably lovely.. but it would have been exciting to have seen something a bit more original. However, knowing that her personal style tends towards more classic & conservative tastes it was wishful thinking! Besides anything too ‘out there’ wouldn’t have really been ‘her’ anyway.
    I did think longer veil and larger bouquet would have been better.. but now Im just being picky!
    Love the car ride at the end too!

Leave a Reply

