Skip to content

I love long walks

April 19, 2011

Can you believe that people still write that they “love long walks on the beach” in personal ads? Yes – I shamefully admit that I do read these from time to time…

Well, if I was to write a personal ad, I would say I love walking too. I make time to take walks with Lily and now that the weather is cooling down I’m looking forward to taking even longer walks.

This wasn’t always the case. I used to run. Stupid amounts to keep fit and to prepare for half marathons.  I was all about fitting in as much intensive exercise into the shortest period of time. So after all that exhausting running I didn’t have time to take long walks.

Now after a friend told me her frightening first running story after having her baby (she returned with wet underpants) – I’ve decided to delay running for now.

So I’ve taken up walking and enjoying how relaxed I get even though I’m somehow exercising as well. And even if I’m walking in familiar areas (where I’ve run before), I’m definitely taking more notice of things and appreciating the surroundings a lot more.

On weekends I combine the long walk with a picnic. Lily loves watching the tree leaves blow in the wind and the sound of the birds. And I just love getting out of the house!


Perth is spoilt for it’s choice of beautiful parks. I especially love walking along the river as I always get to see a variety of different birds – including Perth’s famous black swans.


Hopefully everyone had a good weekend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 1:57 pm

    I can see why you love taking long walks. What a gorgeous area! It’s such a great way to get outdoor, get some fresh air and a change in perspective!

  2. April 20, 2011 11:15 am

    What a gorgeous photo of you with Lily! Love all your rings!

    Perth looks so nice — I so want to visit sometime! I need to find a conference over that side of the country.

  3. April 20, 2011 3:22 pm

    cute ring- house of harlow? we too love walking/picnicing in hyde park! this is divine weather!

  4. April 20, 2011 6:28 pm

    The photo of you and Lily is beautiful, she’s so adorable.
    I love your HOH ring too, you wear it so well! ^_^

  5. April 20, 2011 10:05 pm

    Thanks guys!

    I love my house of harlow ring even though I tend to not buy ‘celebrity designed’ products (including perfume) but I think this ring is pretty cool.

  6. April 23, 2011 6:16 pm

    That’s such a beautiful photo of you two. I think it’s frame-worthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

