Skip to content

365 days of Lily

April 11, 2011

Saturday night was tough.

Poor Lily was suffering from a fever and obvious pain associated with teething. She just couldn’t go to sleep and her usual self-settling wasn’t working.

I would rock her on the fit ball (yes the fit ball made a return this weekend) and when she finally fell asleep I would ever so gently place her back in her cot. And just as her head touched the mattress she would suddenly wake up screaming (as if her cot had needles). And then this frustrating cycle of rocking and putting her back in her cot would start all over again.

She finally collapsed at 3.30AM – after 5 and a half hours! We were completely shattered the next day.

Thank goodness her fever went down and she managed to sleep better last night. However I doubt this will be the last time I have to deal with teething or Lily not being able to sleep.

I bought this Kikki K 365 book and have been religiously writing an entry a day since Lily was born. So of course I had a lot to say about Saturday night – and after  a quick scan of what I’ve written so far (I’m so forgettable nowadays), I’m glad that this is a rare occurrence and Lily has been sleeping well on most nights.

It’s funny to read what I’ve written so far. The early days were devoted to breast feeding. Many pages were solely about first milestones. And others were just silly polaroid pictures.

I like how with this book there are blank pages – so you are free to write and decorate it the way you want.

I hope to give it to her on her 18th or 21st birthday. And hopefully she will enjoy reading all about her first year.


Image courtesy of Kikki K

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 3:24 pm

    Thats a great idea that book!
    Maybe I shoudl get one for myself so I can write to/for my little GIRL!

  2. April 11, 2011 3:33 pm

    Love the book too, you might be starting a trend!

  3. April 12, 2011 8:24 am

    that is so cool. What a wonderful idea.
    She will absolutely love reading about it once she is older, and especially if she has children of her own.
    What an amazing keepsake for her
    xx

  4. April 12, 2011 1:21 pm

    shoesammie – Yes you should get one to write to your GIRL 😉

    Lila and DD – I think it’s a lovely keepsake too. However I’ve raised the bar so probably have to do this for all my (future) kids now!

Leave a Reply

