Skip to content

Lily’s favourite things

March 31, 2011

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favourite things…”

(My favourite things – The Sound of Music)

Even at such a young age, Lily is showing strong preferences with her toys. Here are some of her favourites:

1.  Ebulobo Wolf activity mat – Lily has been on this mat since being a newborn and still loves it. She used to spend ages just staring at the hanging toys (a great opportunity for me to take a shower!). But now she prefers to hit the toys or roll over to her tummy to feel the mat or crinkle (why do babies love this sound??) the wolf’s tail.

2. Playgro activity rings – I bought these rings when Lily stole them off them another baby and wouldn’t give them back! These rings were a bargain (less than $10) and are easy entertainment. When I shake them, Lily would instantly stop what she is doing (most likely crying) to listen to the ‘clacking’ sound. Or I’ll swing them around and she just stares intently until grabbing them off me (in a tug of war) to shake vigorously before eventually biting on them like crazy. I notice other babies are just as captivated as Lily as I take them out of my bag for her to play – they all must want one too.

3. Bumbo – I refused to get one for weeks because I thought it resembled a potty and the price IMHO is ridiculous. Luckily I got it for half price at a sale and it definitely exceeds expectations. Lily enjoys sitting it in and observing what is happening around her. I’m also using it to feed her solids (until I get a proper high chair). It gives me a much earned break when my arms are aching from holding her. Basically without the Bumbo, I would be carrying Lily all day.


4. Early Learning Children’s Fabric Books – Lily has several fabric books but this is her favourite. Lily loves feeling the different textures and tags and listening to my silly made up stories. This book also features ‘squeaking’ and ‘crinkling’ noises which she adores.


5. Lamaze toys – The ultimate all-in-one toy for babies. Lily’s Lamaze toys have different textures, tags, ‘crinkle’ bits, rattles and a hook so you can hang them off the cot or pram.

6. *EDIT* Sophie La Giraffe – OMG and how could I forget Sophie?? She is the only toy that Lily can squeak (soft and malleable) and has been abusing the poor toy by either hitting her on any hard surface or chewing on her legs.

All of these things help keep me sane during the day – so they have all become my favourite things too.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 11:39 pm

    Oh I love that wolf play mat where did you get that?

  2. April 1, 2011 6:34 am

    You have given me some great tips on toys for the day that little Bug comes along!

  3. April 1, 2011 9:30 am

    Renrr – You have great taste! Out of all of the toys, this is the one I personally chose (another toy which comes from France!). I got mine from metromum.com.au

    Samantha – So exciting to know that you have a little one on the way !!!

  4. April 1, 2011 4:04 pm

    Awe I love the last picture of Lily!

  5. April 4, 2011 11:12 am

    How cute is Lily? I love her little “fringe” that you can see in the bumbo seat!

  6. April 4, 2011 2:12 pm

    Jess – Thanks…that photo was taken when she was 2 months when she was so chubby!

    Anna – I call that her mohawk! Her hair is definitely growing now.

Leave a Reply

