Skip to content

It's peanut butter jelly time!

March 16, 2011

Well not exactly…but yesterday I was singing and dancing to this tune while approaching a rather amused looking baby with a spoonful of rice cereal. Yes that time has come – with much anticipation and anxiety…The time for solids.

A week ago, after months of sleeping through the night, I hear Lily crying at 3am. So I bolted out of bed and after a process of elimination (i.e. nappy didn’t need changing, room wasn’t too hot/cold etc), I discover that she was hungry so I had to feed her. Much to my dismay, this continued throughout the week.

Lily’s usual 4 hourly feeds also became 3 hourly again. She was so hungry that I was left completely drained after each feed but I could tell she still wanted more.

It was like going back to the newborn growth spurt stage which I thought I had happily left behind. I was a zombie again. Out came the dry shampoo. Lansinoh was my best friend once more. I was back to having afternoon mini-naps.

So after talking to my child health nurse, I have decided to start Lily on solids even though it was a bit earlier than I had anticipated. She has showed other signs that she is ready to eat and hopefully it will satisfy her increased appetite.

And I pray that I can get some sleep again!!!


First mouthful


Swallowing

Not hiding the fact that she hated it!

I don’t think she liked it…let’s hope it gets easier!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 8:26 pm

    Gorgeous! Best of luck with it! My advice? Keep plenty of wipes close at hand!

  2. March 17, 2011 11:54 pm

    Thanks for the advice Jacki…tomorrow may be messier with apple puree…

  3. March 22, 2011 12:29 pm

    Oh, those photos are adorable! Love the disgust in the last one… lol!

Leave a Reply

