Skip to content

Bonjour, Je m’appelle Sophie

March 14, 2011

Meet Sophie the Giraffe. She is French, 50 years old and Amazon’s number one best-selling baby toy.

Image courtesy of Sophie La Giraffe

4 months ago I didn’t notice this ubiquitous teething toy being chewed on by babies everywhere. But now I can’t help noticing her- at Mother’s group, swimming and even yoga.

Now that Lily is showing signs of teething, I’m on the search for teething toys  and I’ve heard nothing but praise by other mothers about Sophie. But do I succumb to purchasing Sophie just because she is popular?

I struggle with the concept of popularity. I hated the popular group at school and I still shiver when I hear ‘top 40’ music. It took me years to accept that Kate Moss was a ‘supermodel’ (and now I’m obsessed with her) and I’m slowly warming to Victoria’s Beckhams fashion credentials…slowly…

I do own popular products however, but I tend to customise them to avoid following the herd. I like being different. But can you be an individual if your baby’s needs aren’t unique?

Heck how the hell did choosing teething toys cause such philosophical questions? After talking to DH his reply was, “Why don’t you just buy one? It’s only $26 dollars!” I’m sure he appreciates the topic of conversations I now bring to the dinner table!

Nicole Richie, Harlow and Sophie – Image courtesy of Sophie La Giraffe

Sophie, I applaud your PR team for such clever marketing – who can resist your old world European charm paired with your earth friendly material (100% natural rubber derived from the sap of the Hevea tree, non-toxic paint) and being spotted (haha) with babies of various celebrities. And maybe the most important thing…knowing that most mothers are desperate to try anything to calm their teething babies.

I’m so lazy time poor at the moment, so I can’t heavily research every product anymore .  So I guess in this case I’m just going to follow the herd and lets hope they are right!

You can find more about Sophie here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 7:57 am

    As you know, we don’t have any bubbas yet but I see these damn drafts everywhere! I’d always wondered where on earth they came from and if everyone just copied the movie ‘Three Men and a Baby’. Now I know…

    I’ll ask my brother and his fiancée if my nephew liked any teething products in particular. I have a feeling he really liked those cold rings you put in the fridge or freezer. He equally liked putting dints in things like his cot and the back of one of their seats in the car!

  2. March 14, 2011 10:37 am

    Ah yes… Sophie…
    I too have been thinking about this little giraffe.
    Do I? Don’t I?
    I don’t like to follow the crowd, but then again… 50 years old… She must be pretty good.
    If you do make the purchase, I will be very intersted to hear your feedback.

  3. March 14, 2011 10:46 am

    I bought Sophie for my son when he started teething and I had no idea who she was! I just thought it was a cute little teething toy and he (and my daughter) both adore it. She squeaks when you squeeze her and is remarkably durable. I guess she’s the number one toy for a reason!

  4. Desert Darling permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:18 pm

    I’ve heard that giving them iceblocks of frozen breast milk is good help for teething.. but only until they melt.

    I’d just get the giraffe. If its THAT popular it probably works. There will be other ways to express your individuality.

    I have never noticed them around, but I bet now I’ve read your post I’ll see them everywhere!

  5. March 16, 2011 8:49 pm

    Okay Sophie arrived today via MetroMum and it’s by no means a miracle toy or anything but it’s so soft that Lily can actually squeak it (she can’t do that with her other ‘squeaker’ toys) so that entertains her quite a bit.

    Sal – I seem to remember those blue teething rings and I think I had one as a baby…I haven’t seen those things around for ages!

    Sam – Maybe request Sophie as a baby shower gift?

    Jacki – Good to hear that your son and daughter liked Sophie too.

    DD – I was watching ‘Kourtney and Kim take New York’ (embarrassing I know) and noticed that Kourtney’s son uses Sophie! I’m sure they were paid to include Sophie into that episode!

  6. Sophie Demori permalink
    March 20, 2012 2:00 am

    J’mappelle Sophie et J’ai cinquante ans. Je suis français et … Comment est bizarre, c’est ça?
    Au Revoir,
    Sophie Demori

Leave a Reply

