Skip to content

Comfort Blankie

February 8, 2011

I know I’ve said before that while I’m a SAHM I wasn’t going to be relegated to watching trash TV. But I must confess I have finally succumbed to it. There is only so much ‘Food Safari’ and ‘Grand Designs’ I can watch before I need to just tune-out with some no-brainer couch potato programmes – perfect for breast-feeding!

So one of the programmes I’ve been guilty of watching is: ‘Keeping Up with the Kardashians’. Maybe it’s their trademark smokey eye and long jet-black hair which draw me into their somewhat mediocre drama.

Well on one episode I watched recently, two of the Kardashians (Rob and Khloe) admitted they are still attached to their baby blankets (nicknamed ‘Kiki’) to the extent that this is a ‘must-have’ item for when they go travelling!

This is Lily’s baby blanket from from Alimrose. It’s hand crocheted and 100% cotton so it’s warm enough for winter and cool enough to use in the sweltering heat we are experiencing at the moment in Australia!

Image courtesy of Moo said the Cow

I wonder if Lily is going to be attached to her blanket? On one hand it would be great if she started using her blanket to self-settle so it will be quicker for her to fall asleep. On the other hand, having a twenty-something daughter still clinging to her baby blanket will be very embarrassing.

Anyway, I love her blanket and I hope it becomes an heirloom piece for her. I have so many memories of her blanket already with her being wrapped in it in the hospital, to having it draped on my bed during pregnancy…

Yikes I hope I’m not getting attached to it!!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Desert Darling permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:28 am

    That is a gorgeous blanket.. I wouldn’t blame you for being attached to it.. maybe buy another one just incase you have to fight her for it 🙂

  2. February 11, 2011 6:33 pm

    Oh! I’m glad to hear you have also succumbed to Keeping up with the Kardashians! I have also been watching Kourtney and Kim take NYC online… It’s my thing – mindless drama, fabulous hair and shoes!

  3. February 13, 2011 10:01 pm

    DD – I would love to buy another one but still can’t justify the 80 dollar price tag

    Sal – I’ve also been watching that show but a year ago I would have never dared watch ‘reality TV’ – but life changes and sometimes mindless crap is still entertaining!

Leave a Reply

