Skip to content

Wedding Anniversary

January 29, 2011

Wow….it’s been a year since I became a ‘Mrs’!

Our anniversary was pretty low-key. I got some stationery (paper!) including a diary for my anniversary present. I took my wedding dress out for it’s annual ‘airing’ (as per instructions from the dry cleaners) and went to a Thai restaurant for dinner. Even the weather today reminded me of Thailand – humid and hot!

So much has happened since the wedding but when I look back at these photos it really does seem like ‘yesterday’ when I was walking down that aisle.

This is my favourite picture of the day. I was getting ready and I love how the photographer (Kelvin from LightedPixels) captured me through his reflection. Quite artistic don’t you think? (By the way take note of the makeup artist with the glasses – he will come up again later!!!).

The wedding and reception took place at the Library resort in Koh Samui. I wanted a destination and beach wedding, and DH recommended Koh Samui – and I was glad I trusted his judgement – Koh Samui was perfect and all the guests loved it. My guests were a mix of young single twenty-somethings, teenage cousins, young families (including a 4 month baby), retirees and loved up couples – and Koh Samui with it’s beautiful beaches, animal parks, lively markets, great food, seedy clubs, and proximity to Koh Tao (famous for diving) and Koh Phangan (famous for the full moon party!) really catered for them all.

We chose the Library because we loved their blood red swimming pool, their minimal design aesthetic and it was a light bulb moment for me in term of a cute wedding theme (I’m obsessed with reading).

My wedding dress was from Pallas Couture and my wedding shoes were from Hobbs of London. I had to carry my dress along with a whole bunch of DIY gear from Perth to KL and then to Bangkok and finally Koh Samui. Thank goodness I could get my family to carry the rest of my gear for me on their flight over!


The resort placed this red carpet all the way from the entrance to the altar on the beach- so all of the guests walked on it in grand style on the way to their seats.
And of course, my dad and I were the last to walk down the red carpet…



Since I was too far from the altar, I requested the photographer to take a picture of DH’s face when he first saw me – so now I have his expression captured forever!


As mentioned in this post, I was quite annoyed at seeing those damn semi-rotten lotus lily pads. Funny how silly you get when you are a bride!

Oh happy happy day!!!


Some of my DIY items including making bookmarks as table seating plans, tables named after our favourite books (to go with the theme of the library), program books shaped as fans (so guests could cool themselves on the beach) and a guestbook which included a polaroid photo of each guest with a red heart as a prop.

The place was transformed at night as the candles were lit in the pool and the beach was set up with beanbags and drinks galore! I still remember the relaxed vibe as I got to talk to every guest at the wedding (yes even with 95 guests!) but still managed to find time to stuff myself with all the glorious food (we had live phad thai and BBQ lobster stations set up so guests could get their dishes cooked in front of them!).



Ah let the dancing begin! We had a caberet show and remember my makeup artist? Well he is the one in the black dress and I seriously had no idea until he (she) came up to me and said my name. Thoughts were going through my head as to how this person knew me (e.g. “Was this an ex boyfriend from way back trying to win me back???). So you could imagine my relief when I realised he (she) was my makeup artist – PHEW!

So of course we had to have a dance off! LOL!

I had planned to have our guests light some Thai lanterns to float in the sky, but it got too windy unfortunately. So my dad paid some guy on the beach to light some fireworks instead! The night ended with me throwing the bouquet which got totally destroyed before it even reached the girl. She is still waiting for her long-term boyfriend to propose!

It’s such a blessing to have had such a fabulous wedding and to share such a great holiday with 95 of my closest friends and family. We did wreak havoc on that island but what memories we will always have of this day.

And to my DH…thank you for making this day possible…and the 365 days which have passed since this day have been even more perfect!!

(You can see all my posts of my wedding day by clicking here)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 5:57 am

    Wow! Doesnt a year just fly by. And so much has happened in the past year.
    We have been married just over 9 months now and I can hardly believe how much has happened in that amount of time!
    Sounds and i=looks like a beautiful wonderful wedding enjoyed by each and every guest.

    Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary.

    xoxo

  2. January 30, 2011 6:33 am

    Congratulations, our anniversaries aren’t very far apart.
    The wedding was gorgeous and hopefully every year to come will be as beautiful.

  3. January 30, 2011 9:17 am

    shoesammie – You’ve done so much already with your house and now being pregnant. I’m sure your are pretty excited to what the next year will hold!

    LilaWolff – Ooo when is your anniversary? I’m just wondering when DesertDarling is giving birth…it could fall on one of our anniversaries…

  4. January 30, 2011 10:42 am

    STUNNING!

    Everything looked gorgeous! I didn’t even notice the lily pads until you mentioned them. There is always something though that just isn’t right (for me it was the ribbon around the centrepieces).

    It definitely was (and still is) Koh Samui weather this weekend 🙂

  5. Nicole permalink
    January 30, 2011 8:49 pm

    Your wedding looks amazing! Did you get your guest book from guestbookstore.com? Im getting married in Bali in 4 months and need to find one 🙂

  6. January 30, 2011 10:53 pm

    Thanks Jess! Did the storm reach you as there was no ‘cyclone’ near me!

    Nicole – We actually just designed the guestbook ourselves and took it to the printers to bind and print. Ooo Bali will be nice for a wedding, are you getting married in Seminyak?

  7. Desert Darling permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:26 am

    Ooh Wow. Your wedding photos are just beautiful!! You looked amazing.. I love the lanterns in the trees.. and the Life of Pi bookmarks (what a cool font). The beach just looked awesome lit up for the reception.. how cool you got fireworks.. that photo of you cutting rug on the dancefloor is my favourite

    Congrats on the 1 year anniversary!! (day after Bays birthday 🙂

  8. February 20, 2011 4:10 pm

    Oh wow, your wedding was just gorgeous! You see a tonne of weddings on the interwebs, but there are very few that make me think “I would love a wedding like that”, but yours did! So many lovely details. Happy anniversary 🙂

  9. February 21, 2011 11:15 pm

    Thanks DD and Kiki…compliments from such lovely ladies with great taste has made my day 🙂

  10. March 17, 2012 2:41 pm

    omg your wedding location was amazing!!!! I love that red swimming pool and the lanterns in the trees! Sooooo beautiful!

    • March 18, 2012 12:49 am

      Aww thanks Renee! Congratulations on your engagement btw, been trying to leave a comment on your blog for ages (having problems with blogger) and I bet you wedding is going to be beautiful too!

Leave a Reply

