Skip to content

We will rock you

January 8, 2011

In a lot of ways, being a new mother is easier than I thought. It isn’t difficult to change a nappy and babies don’t care if you sing badly. I’m also lucky that feeding isn’t causing me grief anymore.

Getting Lily to sleep is pretty difficult though. I was pretty naive about babies and sleeping as I assumed ‘self-settling’ will be as simple as them yawning, closing their eyes and finally falling asleep soundly. Well not with Lily unfortunately….

I didn’t expect all the crying. I didn’t expect that I had to rock her to sleep -sometimes up to an hour. I didn’t expect that she would be up an hour later.

Dummies, swaddling etc just didn’t seem to be working for her.

One night at 3 am, I was pacing up and down the house rocking Lily in my arms and at the end of my tether. My arms were arching and I just needed a break.

I noticed my fitball in the corner and remembered the good times I spent on it while pregnant and during my labour. I started bouncing on it again with Lily in my arms. She suddenly stopped crying. And she fell asleep.

What a revelation!

Seriously the fitball is a godsend. I’ve tried putting Lily in musical swingers/rockers, cradles, slings, but it doesn’t put her to sleep like the fitball. She seems to feel totally relaxed by the body to body contact of me holding her and the ‘weightless’ feeling she gets from the ball. Probably like the feeling she got from the womb.

And it seems that it isn’t just me who has come across this marvellous tool, as I’ve found that there are special fitballs targeted for rocking babies. Check out the ‘Bounce a Bye Baby Ball‘ below.

Image courtesy of Rose and Lily

As Lily approaches 3 months, I’m going to lessen the time we spend on the fitball so she learns how to fall asleep in her own cot before it becomes a habit.

I have to admit I’m going to really miss the fit ball as I loved the precious moments spent cuddling Lily and watching her little expressions while she tried to fall asleep. And the best thing is that it stopped her crying.

But I know I can’t keep bouncing on a fit ball just to get her to sleep.

So I guess parenting is going to get a whole lot harder again…wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DesertDarling permalink
    January 10, 2011 10:07 pm

    ooh good to know.
    I have just ordered a fitball from my physio.

  2. July 3, 2012 3:02 am

    I am extremely impressed together with your writing talents as well as with the structure
    to your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality
    writing, it is rare to peer a great blog like this one nowadays.
    .

Leave a Reply

